Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎10-28-2013

Very basic question about VLAN

Hello, I start my question very simplify.

I have one controler and one AP.

The AP have two SSID: company (vlan 10) and guest (vlan 20).

 

My AP is connected to the port 1 of the controler.

With access I can only give one vlan and if I put trunk my AP does not work.

My port 1 will be access or trunk for this scenario?

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,798
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Very basic question about VLAN

If you want the AP itself to have an IP in vlan 10 then you'll want the port to be access 10. Client vlan assignment is done in the controller for tunneled SSIDs, not on the AP so you don't need all the VLANs trunked to the AP.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎10-28-2013

Re: Very basic question about VLAN

Ok thank you, I add more information for my comprehension.

My controler will be in the vlan 10 (the vlan 10 is my default vlan).

When a customer connect to SSID guest, the controler put the vlan 20 when he received a packet to this vlan. For my other switch and router I need to configure vlan 20 to transfert the packet?

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,798
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Very basic question about VLAN

If you have an upstream device that handles routing, then you'll want to trunk your vlans down to the controller. For your guest SSID. Set the appropriate VLAN in the virtual ap profile.




If you're directly connecting the AP to the controller, set the port as access VLAN 10.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎10-28-2013

Re: Very basic question about VLAN

The last question.

 

AP ------ >   Controler --------> Switch -------> Router -------> Internet

 

 

A customer use SSID GUEST for internet:

 

Between AP and controler is on the vlan 10 (the default vlan)

Betwenn controler and Router is on the vlan 20

 

This is correct?

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,798
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Very basic question about VLAN

Where does the guest network default gateway live? The controller, switch
our router?

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎10-28-2013

Re: Very basic question about VLAN

In my question is the router.

 

 

But the controler can play the role of a router?

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,798
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Very basic question about VLAN

Yes the controller can be the default gateway of you choose. You need to
set up a layer 3 interface for vlan 20 and also configure a static route
for the next hop IP (most likely your upstream router)

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎10-28-2013

Re: Very basic question about VLAN

Ok thank you, and is the default gateway is my router, my desscription is good?

Super Contributor II
Posts: 354
Registered: ‎09-26-2012

Re: Very basic question about VLAN

Both controller and router can be default gateway for the clients. It up to you how you configure your network.
Thanks & Regards
Syed Murad Ali
ACMP ACMA CCNA
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: