Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎10-31-2012

Via sometimes credentials

I have VIA up and running and on IOS and Android devices it will use the default-via-role, however when i use the OSX client it will grab the role from the internal DB account.    Why the difference between connections?

 

Running 6.1.2.3 of code.

 

As a bonus question, i upload custom logo to the <controlerip>/via  page and it still uses aruba logo for initiail login screen. 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,513
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Via sometimes credentials


mattjhughes wrote:

I have VIA up and running and on IOS and Android devices it will use the default-via-role, however when i use the OSX client it will grab the role from the internal DB account.    Why the difference between connections?

 

Running 6.1.2.3 of code.

 

As a bonus question, i upload custom logo to the <controlerip>/via  page and it still uses aruba logo for initiail login screen. 

 


The MAC OSX Clients uses the Default VPN role, for now, because it uses the mac L2tp vpn client.  That will be changed eventually.

 

Please see the VIA vrd here:  http://www.arubanetworks.com/wp-content/uploads/VIAAppNote_2012-06-11.pdf

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎10-31-2012

Re: Via sometimes credentials

 

 

All users are coming from a internal db.  They all had the role set to guest.    However when the user would login from the ios device they would receive the role of default-via-role.  But when same user logs in using the OSX they would recieve the role specified in their internalDB user profile "guest".  Shouldn't they instead recieve the role  default-vpn-user?

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,513
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Via sometimes credentials

If the server group attached to the VPN authentication is pointing to the internal database, and has a rule "value-of  blah blah" that means it will take the role of the user in the internal database.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎10-31-2012

Re: Via sometimes credentials

yup that was the problem, looks like I had dropped that line.  Thanks so much.

 

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: