Wireless Access

last person joined: 23 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Virtual Controller IP

This thread has been viewed 16 times
  • 1.  Virtual Controller IP

Posted Apr 10, 2017 03:29 PM

Hi guys,

I am new in Instant technology. I have to implement a cluster of 15 IAPs in customer site. I am testing in a demo lab, where I have a cluster of 2 IAPs. The master IAP has IP 192.168.1.95 and I realized the VC IP is 0.0.0.0.

VC.PNG

What's that mean? Do I have to configure an IP for the VC? If the master IAP has the role of VC, the VC IP is not the same as the master IAP IP? What are the advantages? I should know this before installing the IAPs at customer site, which will be in a couple of days. Many thanks in advance.

Regards,

Julián

• 2.  RE: Virtual Controller IP

MVP EXPERT
    Posted Apr 10, 2017 03:33 PM

Yes, you do need to configure a Virtual Controller IP to use a single IP for management. The "Master AP" is simply the AP in the cluster which has elected itself to "hold" the Virtual Controllers IP address. If the current master AP is disconnected or powered down, another AP will elect its self as the master AP and the Virtual Controller IP will move to the latest elected master AP.

• 3.  RE: Virtual Controller IP

Posted Apr 10, 2017 03:51 PM

Hi zailon0,

Thanks for your fast reply. But what are the advantages? Because in my lab the VC IP  is 0.0.0.0, so I think the VC has no IP address, but the cluster is working properly. And if the master IAP goes down, another IAP will be elected as the master and hold the VC with no IP address and will work properly as well.

Regards,

Julián

• 4.  RE: Virtual Controller IP
    Best Answer

MVP EXPERT
    Posted Apr 10, 2017 03:56 PM