Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎10-05-2015

VisualRF does not show (correct) heatmaps

In AMP 8.0.9.2 the VisualRF is not showing the heatmap on several floorplans.

On one floorplan with just 3 AP's we get a heatmap from only one AP (see image).

 

Wha tis goign wrong, and or how can we fix this?

Regular Contributor II
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎09-11-2013

Re: VisualRF does not show (correct) heatmaps

I have seen this before, I would try:

  • Use different browser
  • Remove the AP from the floor plan and add it back on
    • after you add, poll the controller again.

Hopefully this helps :)

MVP
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎12-01-2010

Re: VisualRF does not show (correct) heatmaps

First, make sure you're not set to focus on the one AP - as that's supposed to just show one.

Second you can try this:

https://<airwave-name-or-address>/visualrf/poll_aps_now.xml

That forces all APs to be re-polled and data to recalculate, it takes a few minutes, but makes everything pretty again.

--Matthew

if I've helped, please give kudos
if I've provided a solution, please mark the solution so others can find it
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-10-2015

Re: VisualRF does not show (correct) heatmaps

Same problem here. Removing AP and place it back doesn't work, restarting AMP services doesn't work, rebooting server doesn't work and force a SNMP poll doesn't work also.

 

We're on AMP 8.2.1 and controller version 6.4.3.9

 

An Aruba engineer already solved it in the past, but that doesn't solve the problem anymore.

 

Resolution:
 

  • Went on web session. Checked the APs status and found its showing error
  • Checked the xml file and saw radio skipping message
  • Disabled visualrf cleared the bootstrap cache and restarted it
  • Heat map started showing up correctly
  • There was another ap in a different floorplan not showing heat map
  • Found radio was showing good. It was issue with the floor plan
  • Resized it and it started showing correctly. Hence, closing the case

Any suggestions?

 

MVP
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎12-01-2010

Re: VisualRF does not show (correct) heatmaps

I recognize that path of steps - we followed it for quite some time.

It also stopped working effectively for us as well.

Have TAC look over my case #1922009 to see if they can see what was done to help me. I'm told that they've identified a bug which lead to our issues, and while we're still waiting for a final fix, Airwave and VisualRF have been much more stable/fast/and accurate since 8/17 when we made the last tweak.

--Matthew

if I've helped, please give kudos
if I've provided a solution, please mark the solution so others can find it
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-10-2015

Re: VisualRF does not show (correct) heatmaps

Sounds good. Keep me posted please!

 

--Rolf

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-10-2015

Re: VisualRF does not show (correct) heatmaps

Any update yet?

 

-Rolf

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: