Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-19-2014

VisualRF shows client on the wrong floor

I hope this is the right thread.

 

I have AirWave 8.0.0, VisualRF and 30+ iAP-105s. Our building has 3 floors. Some of the clients are showing up on the wrong floor of the building. I know I can drag clients to the correct location as long as that location is on the same floor but is there a way to move a client to a different floor so that its physical location is coorect?

 

I can provide more info as needed.

MVP
Posts: 4,228
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: VisualRF shows client on the wrong floor

You should consider upgrading to the latest code of AirWave there's a lot of fixes on 8.0.5
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Moderator
Posts: 1,252
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: VisualRF shows client on the wrong floor

There were several VRF related changes in 8.0, you should at least be on 8.0.4.1.

 

Also, you should check out the site.xml file.  In VRF, go to a floor plan, then click anywhere in the floor plan to make sure the floor plan is the active frame, then key press: ctrl+x+m+l.  This should launch a new tab displaying the site.xml.  Look for the client, and check what neighboring radios hear the client and strength of the signal.

 

Otherwise, open a support case to debug further after upgrading.


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-19-2014

Re: VisualRF shows client on the wrong floor

Thanks for the suggestions. I will update and post back.

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-19-2014

Re: VisualRF shows client on the wrong floor

I updated Airwave and I am still having problems with devices appearing on the wrong floor in the building.

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,799
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: VisualRF shows client on the wrong floor

Is the client associated to the access point on that floor?  How far apart do you have the access points?  Is there any way you can double-check to ensure that the access points correspond to the access points in VisualRF?

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-19-2014

Re: VisualRF shows client on the wrong floor

We are a school and have a 3 story building. The device is in the basement, the AP it is connected to is on the 3rd level and VisualRF shows the device on the Second floor.

 

I have an AP in every classroom.

 

Interestingly there is another AP directly between the device and the 3rd floor AP that the device is connecing to. There is also an AP in the next room over from the device. The room the device is in is an office area and there is no AP in that room.

 

I will verify the AP physical locations with Airwave but I just put them in this summer and I am fairly certain they are correct but I can deffinately see how it would throw everything off if Airwave has them in the wrong spot.

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,799
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: VisualRF shows client on the wrong floor

Todd,

 

How far apart are your access points?

Are they in rooms or in hallways?

What is their transmit power?

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-19-2014

Re: VisualRF shows client on the wrong floor

 

Colin,

 

Thanks for the follow up. Most of them are in classrooms. There are a couple places like the lunch room where we have more than one in the room.The transmit power is 3 - 15. Client match is on with an Interval of 30 seconds, 75% neighbor matching and a threshold of 2.

 

The distances vary depending on where you are in the building. The APs are not laid out in a grid. I'd say the distance is approximately 30 feet in most cases. Maybe a little less.

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,799
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: VisualRF shows client on the wrong floor

Todd7912,

 

Thank you and let us know.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: