Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-01-2015

Vlan not recognised 100% of the time

I have 52 205 AP's and have set up 2 ssid's, on on the default VLAN (phs) and another on VLAN 2 (phs_guest)

 

I have created the identical VLAN's on my cisco switched infrastructure and have truncked the ports where necessary. Ive tested the vlans work by connecting to them with cable. Vlan tagging is enabled to

 

The issue I have is that a device connecting to the phs_guest ssid only sometimes gets an ip address. I know the vlans on my switches are correct as I can connect with a cable on both vlans and communicate.

 

Is there something I'm missing?

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,821
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Vlan not recognised 100% of the time

Are these Instant (IAPs) or Controller-Based APS?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-01-2015

Re: Vlan not recognised 100% of the time

They are IAP's, so no controller. The AP's themselves form a virtual controller...

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-01-2015

Re: Vlan not recognised 100% of the time

Another issue is that when some devices connect they attempt to get an IP address from the wrong vlan, and fail to get an address in the end.

MVP
Posts: 344
Registered: ‎07-26-2011

Re: Vlan not recognised 100% of the time

Hey, what is providing DHCP for the VLAN? Is it the Virtual Controller or an external DHCP server? Have you run a wireshark capture to confirm if a DHCP response is being seen by the client?

ACMA, ACMP
If my post addresses your query, give kudos:)
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-01-2015

Re: Vlan not recognised 100% of the time

Its an external dhcp server, on vlan2 and as the ports are trunked it should be seen when a client associates with the AP. WHen I use the Virtual Controller for DHCP I do get an address.

 

Sometimes a client connects, but gets the IP from anothe vlan and this as I understand it was a bug...

MVP
Posts: 344
Registered: ‎07-26-2011

Re: Vlan not recognised 100% of the time

That is odd, when the client obtains an IP from the wrong VLAN, do you also see that this is the case on the external DHCP server?

ACMA, ACMP
If my post addresses your query, give kudos:)
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-01-2015

Re: Vlan not recognised 100% of the time

...added to this, the problem only affects ipad and android clients, wireless laptops connect ok, its a very strange issue..

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-01-2015

Re: Vlan not recognised 100% of the time

Seems to be irrelivent where the dhcp request comes from. Its just odd that it only affects mac's, ipads and android devices, wireless laptops are fine!

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,821
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Vlan not recognised 100% of the time

Is the VLAN set in the SSID or are you using a radius attribute to set the VLAN?  How is this configured?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: