Wireless Access

Reply
Regular Contributor II
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎01-30-2013

Vlan trunking - best practices

Hi all,

 

First time in forum;)

 

i recently deploy a Wireless network with Aruba 3600 Controller and AP 105.

 

We have a Cisco Switch Core  to our internal wired network.

 

We deploy Controller and AP´s 105  in  Vlan 100 and create a trunk on Cisco and Aruba controller.

 

Native Vlan is 100 on the trunk ( allowed 100 and 101). Clients connect ok to Vlan 100, but I created another vlan 101 for wlan clients.

 

I want to get all clients connected to Vlan 101, different from the AP´s and controller VLAN.

 

I know this is possible but i am stuck... Already configured two SSid´s with diferent vlan 100 and 101, but only the native goes to the clients.

 

 

What we need is basically:

 

Vlan 100 - AP´s , controller and dhcp.

 

vlan 101 - clients

 

vlan 102 - management

 

Could you help?

 

Regards

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,543
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Vlan trunking - best practices

If you have allready configured the WLAN, the Virtual AP profile has the VLAN that the clients end up in.

 

Try Configuration> Wireless > AP Configuration.  Edit the Ap-Group (could be default).  Expand Wireless Lan.. Expand Virtual AP.  Click on the Virtual AP with your clients.  The right Pane should open up.  Put in the VLAN number you want your clients to be in and click on apply.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Regular Contributor II
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎01-30-2013

Re: Vlan trunking - best practices

Hi.
Created an ap group name test.
Already change that setting to 101 vlan on wlan. Then it seems that the clients can't reach dhcp, but i already created dhcp reservatiion for both vlan's. Could be that cisco has on the trunk native 100?
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,543
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Vlan trunking - best practices

- Give VLAN 101 an ip address on the Aruba Controller.  See if you can ping the VLAN 101 ip address on the Cisco side.

 

If you cannot, something is wrong with your trunk.  If you can, and your client does not get an ip address, you need to add a helper address on the Cisco VLAN 101 interface that points to the DHCP server.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎07-06-2012

Re: Vlan trunking - best practices

Do not forget to make Vlans as trusted and check that with # show run | begin interface.

MVP
Posts: 1,409
Registered: ‎05-28-2008

Re: Vlan trunking - best practices

Hi,

(I know that some already written here - but just to summarize)

 

  • Check in the controller that all the VLANS are up and enabled.
  • Make sure that you configured an IP DHCP HELPER in each vlan (if you aren't using the DHCP server on the controller) - and direct it to the DHCP IP server address.
  • Make sure - u configured the IP settings right of each vlan (subnet it's important)
  • Make sure - u added all the VLANS to the trunk port on the controller. (and again like already written here - make sure it's trusted!)
  • Make sure u choose the right vlan in the VAP (Virtual AP group-ssid)
  • if nothing doesn't work and everything look's fine - just add an IP to each vlan - and ping to diagnostic...when ping will work everything should work. (again - like already written here)

 

Rgrds.

 

Me

 

*****************2Plus Wireless Solutions****************************
Aruba Airheads - Powered By community for empower the community
************ Don't Forget to Kudos + me,If i helped you******************
Regular Contributor II
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎01-30-2013

Re: Vlan trunking - best practices

Hi,

Thanks for summary;)

Only thing that i think its missing is the ip helper. But even without the helper , clients get an ip address on vlan 100. Should that me because cisco trunk as v100 as native?

I will check all the points and see if it works.
Regards
MVP
Posts: 1,409
Registered: ‎05-28-2008

Re: Vlan trunking - best practices

U sure that the cisco port is configured as trunk?

 

BTW:

did u also configured the native vlan on the Aruba controller port as the same one?

*****************2Plus Wireless Solutions****************************
Aruba Airheads - Powered By community for empower the community
************ Don't Forget to Kudos + me,If i helped you******************
MVP
Posts: 1,409
Registered: ‎05-28-2008

Re: Vlan trunking - best practices

[ Edited ]

What is the working mode of the VAP you did?

Tunnel / or Bridge?!

 

===================================

 

U may do some screenshots - they will give us a better looking on your configuration (if u dont want to output some cli outputs)

 

*****************2Plus Wireless Solutions****************************
Aruba Airheads - Powered By community for empower the community
************ Don't Forget to Kudos + me,If i helped you******************
Regular Contributor II
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎01-30-2013

Re: Vlan trunking - best practices

Trunk on both ends.

Tunnel.

Yes i will send some screen shots nearly next week. Regards
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: