Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎03-08-2013

Voice VLAN across SSID

Hi all,

 

I've been playing about with this for almost a week now and its time to admit I need help - ha!

I have several VLANs but this particular instance just involves one of them, Voice.

 

Im essentially trying to attach a number of wireless handsets to our Voice VLAN with very little success :smileymad:

 

The setup so far:

 

Controller interface 0/0 is untagged within the main data VLAN and works a charm.

Controller interface 0/1 is untagged within the Voice VLAN with an appropriate IP address, and new SSID setup with a VAP Profile pointing at the correct VLAN.

 

When I join the Voice SSID I can't make contact with any of the devices that I know are there, but if I patch into the port that the controller is patched into I can see everything.

 

From this, I'm pretty confident that the VLAN itself is setup properly, Im just missing something daft on the Aruba side.

 

If anyone can offer a bit of guidence, it would be greatly appreciated.

 

Regards,

MVP
Posts: 4,238
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Voice VLAN across SSID

Can you please share the user-role you are using for this ?

 

Can you do a show datapath session table <ip address of the client> and see if anything is getting deny from the controller>

 

Do you have an IP address configured under that VLAN on the controller ? if you do can you ping it from the uplink switch/router?

 

Do a show ip interface brief confirm that the interface VLAN <Voice> confirm that is up too 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Contributor II
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎03-08-2013

Re: Voice VLAN across SSID

Hi vf,

 

Thanks for the speedy reply.

 

The user-role is "Authenticated" and shows as such on the dashboard when connected to the SSID

Datapath session table is as follows:

 

  Source IP     Destination IP  Prot SPort DPort  Cntr Prio ToS Age Destination                                                                                                  TAge UsrIdx UsrVer Flags
--------------  --------------  ---- ----- -----  ---- ---- --- --- -----------                                                                                                  ---- ------ ------ -----
10.10.11.255    10.10.11.200    17   138   138    0/0     0 96  1   tunnel 459                                                                                                   f    0      0      FY
10.10.11.255    10.10.11.200    17   137   137    0/0     0 96  2   tunnel 459                                                                                                   15   0      0      FY
10.10.11.200    10.10.11.255    17   138   138    0/0     0 96  1   tunnel 459                                                                                                   f    6d     d67e   FC
10.10.11.200    10.10.11.255    17   137   137    0/0     0 96  0   tunnel 459                                                                                                   15   6d     d67e   FC
10.10.11.200    10.10.11.255    17   53296 30016  0/0     0 96  1   tunnel 459                                                                                                   f    6d     d67e   FC
10.10.11.200    255.255.255.255 17   53297 30016  0/0     0 96  1   tunnel 459  9    6d     d67e   FC
10.10.11.200    239.255.255.250 17   64172 1900   0/0     0 96  1   tunnel 459  14   6d     d67e   FC
255.255.255.255 10.10.11.200    17   30016 53297  0/0     0 96  0   tunnel 459  9    0      0      FY
255.255.255.255 10.10.11.200    17   5151  57384  0/0     0 96  0   tunnel 459  0    0      0      FY
10.10.11.200    255.255.255.255 17   57384 5151   0/0     0 96  0   tunnel 459  0    6d     d67e   FC
10.10.11.255    10.10.11.200    17   30016 53296  0/0     0 96  1   tunnel 459  f    0      0      FY
10.10.11.200    224.0.0.22      2    2     2      0/0     0 0   1   tunnel 459  19   6d     d67e   FCI

 

I do have an ip address configured under the VLAN for the controller, and I can ping it from the voice vlan.

 

The Interface brief returned the following: (VLAN 10)

Interface                   IP Address / IP Netmask        Admin   Protocol
vlan 1                    192.168.80.1 / 255.255.0.0       up      up
vlan 2                      unassigned / unassigned        up      up
vlan 10                    10.10.11.10 / 255.255.255.0     up      up
vlan 3                      unassigned / unassigned        up      up
loopback                    unassigned / unassigned        up      up
mgmt                        unassigned / unassigned        down    down

 

 

 Best Regards,

Aruba
Posts: 1,643
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: Voice VLAN across SSID

Are you getting an IP on that VLAN?  If not, where is DHCP setup?

 

If yes, what is your default gateway for that VLAN; the controller or something on your core network?  

Can you access other things on that VLAN? or is just remote networks that are a problem?

 

 

------------------------------------------------
Systems Engineer, Northeast USA
ACCX | ACDX | ACMX

Contributor II
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎03-08-2013

Re: Voice VLAN across SSID

Hi Clembo,

 

The PBX dishes out DHCP on that VLAN, but when trying across the Voice SSID it doesnt issue anything.

If I unpatch the controller and patch a laptop into the same port I get an IP address issued from the PBX.

DHCP is setup on the same VLAN.

 

The default gateway is our core firewall, with seperate interfaces setup across all our VLANs.

Again, if I patch into the same port that the controller is patched into I can ping the default gateway, all the switch interfaces, the desktop handsets, everything on the VLAN.

 

I can ping the controller from the PBX but I cant see anything when connected to the Voice SSID.

MVP
Posts: 4,238
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Voice VLAN across SSID

 

You probably should check your core firewall to make sure that traffic is not getting blocked 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Contributor II
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎03-08-2013

Re: Voice VLAN across SSID

Hi fv,

 

Quite valid, but the firewall looks good from this end, everything else on that VLAN is using it as the GW and its all working.

 

MVP
Posts: 4,238
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Voice VLAN across SSID

 

You are probably using some type of QoS setup to prioritize and classified your Voice traffic , make sure that those values match on the wireless side of things.

 

Do you need multicast in order for your voice service to work ?

 

 

Maybe these can help :

http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Community-Knowledge-Base/WLAN-Design-for-Voice-and-Video/ta-p/21680

http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Voice-and-Video-over-Wi-Fi/QOS-Configuration-on-the-Aruba-Controller/td-p/39120

 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Contributor II
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎03-08-2013

Re: Voice VLAN across SSID

[ Edited ]

Hi vf,

 

Just reading through the PDF's now.

 

I dont want to get too bogged down in the Voice side of things just yet, because at the moment im just trying to connect a laptop to the VLAN via wireless to proof it all, then ill attempt the handsets.

 

For the minute im tryin go get a DHCP lease across vlan 10 through the wireless with a laptop.

 

Essentially I have a DHCP server dishing out addresses at one of the VLAN, and I have a laptop on the other end that cant see the dhcp server.

 

But if I physically cable the laptop to the VLAN using the exact same network details as the controller - hey presto! DHCP.

Contributor II
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎03-08-2013

Re: Voice VLAN across SSID

Im reading other peoples topics as well trying to peice together a solution.

 

If I look at the trunk details on he CLi I get the following:

 

Trunk Port Table
-----------------
Port   Vlans Allowed  Vlans Active  Native Vlan
----   -------------  ------------  -----------
GE1/0  1-3,10         1-3,10        1

 Does this mean that VLAN10 isnt on the interface that im expecting it to be on?

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: