Wireless Access

Reply
Super Contributor I
Posts: 274
Registered: ‎04-04-2014

Way to clear old RF Neighbors?

 

We're in the middle of a rollout and the APs that are near where we provision new APs before we bring them out to the field have amassed quite a collection of RF neighbors that aren't really anywhere near them.  Is there a way to flush the RF neighbors for a particular AP, or even systemwide, and let it rebuild?  They don't seem to be aging out at all.

 

Already tried the one persistence setting we can find in the manual, but that seems to be only for rogues/interferers/non-ARM neighbors.

 

 

 

 

Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎03-16-2014

Re: Way to clear old RF Neighbors?

So what I go from you that the APs collect information from your neghbours network before mounting them and you need to remove this history right?

Islam Zidan │ Professional Services Engineer | ACCP,ACMP,CWDP,CWNA,CCNP,MCITP,Competia A+
If you Found My Post Helping you kindly Give KUDOS and if it solved your question Kindly hit Accept as a solution box.
Super Contributor I
Posts: 274
Registered: ‎04-04-2014

Re: Way to clear old RF Neighbors?

 

Yes, they hang on to the old records from before they were mounted.

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,289
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Way to clear old RF Neighbors?

[ Edited ]

bjulin wrote:

 

We're in the middle of a rollout and the APs that are near where we provision new APs before we bring them out to the field have amassed quite a collection of RF neighbors that aren't really anywhere near them.  Is there a way to flush the RF neighbors for a particular AP, or even systemwide, and let it rebuild?  They don't seem to be aging out at all.

 

Already tried the one persistence setting we can find in the manual, but that seems to be only for rogues/interferers/non-ARM neighbors.

 

 

 

 


bjulin,

 

If you execute a "wms clean-db" it will remove all of those entries.  There is no way to remove things for individual access points.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Super Contributor I
Posts: 274
Registered: ‎04-04-2014

Re: Way to clear old RF Neighbors?

 

OK, that seemed to reduce the number of entries on the controllers.  Airwave hasn't caught up to that yet, but sometimes it seems to fix itself overnight so we'll see tomorrow I guess.

 

Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎03-16-2014

Re: Way to clear old RF Neighbors?

you can make airwave to poll the new state but there is no problem if you wait

Islam Zidan │ Professional Services Engineer | ACCP,ACMP,CWDP,CWNA,CCNP,MCITP,Competia A+
If you Found My Post Helping you kindly Give KUDOS and if it solved your question Kindly hit Accept as a solution box.
Super Contributor I
Posts: 274
Registered: ‎04-04-2014

Re: Way to clear old RF Neighbors?

 

Well, it does not look like Airwave is going to catch up here.  It is still showing neighboring APs that definitely cannot be heard, and are not listed on the controller.  It even shows them with signal strengths.

 

Super Contributor I
Posts: 274
Registered: ‎04-04-2014

Re: Way to clear old RF Neighbors?

 

So on the Airwave side of this the solution appears to be "wait two weeks" unless there's a way to flush that as well.

 

Also noting for fair warning, the clean-db requires reboots.

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,289
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Way to clear old RF Neighbors?


bjulin wrote:

 

So on the Airwave side of this the solution appears to be "wait two weeks" unless there's a way to flush that as well.

 

Also noting for fair warning, the clean-db requires reboots.

 


The command clean-db suggests that you reboot. But it does not require it.

 

The thread here:  http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Unified-Wired-Wireless-Access/How-I-clear-all-IDS-events-in-Airwave/m-p/173296/highlight/true#M36632 mentions how to clear Airwave events.  It also mentions how long Airwave IDS events will remain in Airwave.

 

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: