Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-16-2016

adding ap-275

Have 4 ap-105's working fine and need to add a new ap-275.  Connected ap-275 to my Cisco poe switch and it powers on with green flashing light. But I canot see it in the Virtual Controller. The Virtual Controller does allow me to add its Mac address but it remains in red letters and numbers and I cannot see the ap-275?

MVP
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎11-07-2008

Re: adding ap-275

Is your Cisco POE switch LLDP enabled and supporting 802.3at?

Is the LED on the 275 red?

Can you connect to the USB serial port and post the output from powerup?

Are you using IAP VC or Central?

 

You may also need to bring up the AP-275 by itself and load the firmware on the 275 that matches the firmware version on the IAP-105s.

Jerrod Howard
Sr. Techical Marketing Engineer
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-16-2016

Re: adding ap-275

Thank you so much answers follow. Btw, I'm part of a satellite office no IT support here they are in a different city. Haven't needed much as the system has been stable for 3 years. People want to work outdoors now thus the AP-275. I have some computer experience but little on Aruba products so I do appreciate the help. We are a Mac house mainly workstations hard wired, MacBooks and iPhones.

*** Yes it has link layer discovery protocol. It supports 802.3af not at.

*** it starts flashing green slowly, then faster flashing green then it turns red for a couple of seconds then starts the cycle over again

*** not sure what you mean here sorry

*** I think you are asking me about the iap's in a cluster versus central.? The 105's are disbursed around our space. They handoff from one to the other as you move automatically. When I'm in the Virtual Controller the 4 IAP's are separately listed in the "access points" section each with a separate static IP address not from dhcp server.

*** current firmware for the 105's is
6.4.2.0-4.1.1.0_46028
This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed. If you have received this email in error please notify the system manager. This message contains confidential information and is intended only for the individual named. If you are not the named addressee you should not disseminate, distribute or copy this e-mail. Please notify the sender immediately by e-mail if you have received this e-mail by mistake and delete this e-mail from your system. If you are not the intended recipient you are notified that disclosing, copying, distributing or taking any action in reliance on the contents of this information is strictly prohibited.
MVP
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎11-07-2008

Re: adding ap-275

* The AP-275 requires 802.3at, so you can either buy an inexpensive 802.3at certified power injector, or replace the switch powering the APs (the POE injector is likely less costly).

* All APs in the same cluster have to run the same version of code. You COULD download 6.4.2.0-4.1.1.0_46028 for the AP-275, but it is pretty old code, and from there get the version that matches 6.4.2.0-4.1.1.0_46028 for the AP-275, install it on the 275 and then bring it up on your network with the 105s, or upgrade your AP-105s to newer IAP software as well as the 275. 

 

The getting started and IAP user guides have all the instructions on that, and can be downloaded from support.arubanetworks.com

 

Jerrod Howard
Sr. Techical Marketing Engineer
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-16-2016

Re: adding ap-275

Thank you.
So I ordered the injector for the Poe+ it will arrive Wednesday.

In the meantime I've looked at some of the documentation that you suggested and attempted to first update the IAP's firmware to the most current. When I enter instant using the virtual controller and go to maintenance>firmwareI can see an option to check for New Version Automatic. When I press this button it says image check in progress then it says, "received no response from server" then the button is available again to press.
Thoughts?
Thank you

Sent from my iMat
MVP
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎11-07-2008

Re: adding ap-275

Something might be blocking your IAP VC from reaching the internet. Are your IAPs in an Internet accessible VLAN?

Jerrod Howard
Sr. Techical Marketing Engineer
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-16-2016

Re: adding ap-275

Thank you. Could you guide me on how to check to see if this is true?
This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed. If you have received this email in error please notify the system manager. This message contains confidential information and is intended only for the individual named. If you are not the named addressee you should not disseminate, distribute or copy this e-mail. Please notify the sender immediately by e-mail if you have received this e-mail by mistake and delete this e-mail from your system. If you are not the intended recipient you are notified that disclosing, copying, distributing or taking any action in reliance on the contents of this information is strictly prohibited.
MVP
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎11-07-2008

Re: adding ap-275

That's up to your local network. If the IAPs have an IP that can reach the internet, you need to make sure that your IAPs have DNS configured. You would have to look at the IP config of your VC (if you statically set an IP but no DNS, then DNS should be configured, if they are pulling DHCP, you would need to make sure that DNS is working, etc.

Jerrod Howard
Sr. Techical Marketing Engineer
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-16-2016

Re: adding ap-275

Thanks.  Any way that you could make the firmware file available to me directly at this point?



Michael
MVP
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎11-07-2008

Re: adding ap-275

You should be able to register for a support account. if not, you will need to tell me which version you are wanting and for what platform(s) (105s or 275s, etc). 

Jerrod Howard
Sr. Techical Marketing Engineer
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: