Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎07-06-2015

ap-205h wired ports

I just want to confirm - Is E0 on the bottom of the 205H just for use as either an alternative uplink to the E0 on the rear, or as a pass-through? Ie it can't be used as a wired downlink port, is that right?

 

Many thanks

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,330
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: ap-205h wired ports

Correct. You would have to connect the PT port on the back to an upstream
switch.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
MVP
Posts: 4,234
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: ap-205h wired ports

Correct
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-21-2014

Re: ap-205h wired ports

The E0/PT port on the bottom of the AP-205H is a passthrough connection of the PT port on the back. It has nothing to do with the E0 port on the back of the AP-205H, or E0 in the AP's Wired profile.

 

Ports E1-3 are used in the Wired AP profile. E0 in the controller is the uplink ap connection port.

 

If you plan to bridge the ports E1-3 on a different VLAN than the AP, you'll need to change the E0 profile to be a trunk with native VLAN on the AP management VLAN, and the client VLAN to be used on ports E1-3 as a tagged VLAN. Then on the Wired AP profile for ports E1-3 you can configure Access bridged to the Client VLAN.

 

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎07-06-2015

Re: ap-205h wired ports

Thanks for this detailed reply - so why is the port labelled 'E0/PT' if it has nothing to do with the E0 port on the back? I'm just a bit confused by that

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-21-2014

Re: ap-205h wired ports

Agreed, its a bit confusing.

I think the idea was that the 4 ports on the bottom are the ones that the end user would see, so they would be E0-E3.

The end user would have no context as to what is behind the AP as it's in the wall. 

Also note that as of 6.5.0.3 code you can not actually use secure wired AP with bridged ports. Don't try to use OnGuard or other authentication methods that would use multiple VLAN's or CoA on the ports. You're only solution is to use the ports in tunnel mode, Split Tunnel doesn't seem to work either. 

 

Still waiting on an answer from Engineering on why this won't work. Looks like its got something to do with the way the PHY was implemented. 

 

I've also run into issue with the port trying to hold the authentication/MAC of the device if the bridged port is not in trusted mode. 

Contributor II
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Re: ap-205h wired ports

Hi cauliflower, it might be labeled that way because of the Desk Mount stand conversion kit. The stand comes with a .5 inch patch cable that connects the E0/PT port on the back together and then the passthrough port on the bottom essentially becomes the uplink port E0. I can post a picture tomorrow.


#AirheadsMobile
Contributor II
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Re: ap-205h wired ports

cauliflower wrote:

Thanks for this detailed reply - so why is the port labelled 'E0/PT' if it has nothing to do with the E0 port on the back? I'm just a bit confused by that

 

Hi cauliflower,

 

Here's the 205H Desk (AP-205H-MNTR) that has the E0/PT patched together that passes E0 through the PT port on the bottom.

205H-Desk-Mount.png

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-21-2014

Re: ap-205h wired ports

Thank you cbjohns,

As you can see you plug into PT/E0 on the Desktop mount and that connects the AP up via E0. So no wires hanging from the back that the user can see. 

PT/E0 and PT on the back are basicly a coupler. 

 

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: