Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all
This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  deploy ap's

Posted Dec 20, 2016 05:08 PM

I am new to aruba products and coming into a environment where the controllers and ap's are already inplace as well as airwave and looking to add new ap's. The ap's that were purchased are iap-335's. 

I am trying to find out options to streamline/automate as much of the deployment of these ap's as possible. i see options that talk about dhcp option 43 and airwave being able to configure instant ap's. 

Can anyone help me connect these dots?

• 2.  RE: deploy ap's

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Dec 20, 2016 05:53 PM

• 3.  RE: deploy ap's

Posted Dec 22, 2016 12:11 PM

I read through that and i did not see anything about joining iap's to a controller as campus ap's.

currenlty have option 43 and 60 configured but i do not see the iap's show up in airwave or the controller. If i manually convert it from iap to a campus ap then it shows up on the controller.

I would like to skip the step of having to touch each one to convert it. Is that possible? seems like its a no brainer, not sure why it wouldnt be possible. any ideas?

THanks!

• 4.  RE: deploy ap's

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Dec 22, 2016 01:27 PM

That can only be done through Aruba Activate through a conversion rule.  Please start with page 154...

• 5.  RE: deploy ap's
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Dec 22, 2016 01:33 PM

To be clear, here are the steps:

1.  Request a Login at activate.arubanetworks.com (you will need the serialnumber and the mac address of the AP

2.  Add your IAPs to activate using the Cloud Activation Key http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Controller-less-WLANs/Where-we-can-find-Cloud-Activation-Key-on-IAP/ta-p/203205

3.  Create a rule in Activate to Convert IAPs to Campus APS or RAPs