Wireless Access

Reply
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

how do you assign rap switchports into a vlan?

Hi forum!

 

I was kind of hoping to get a RAP3 with a PoE port so I can connect a Cisco phone to it and power it up off it.  How do I put the switchport on the RAP3 into a user VLAN?  The AP profile options look a little limited? 

 

Thanks!

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,458
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: how do you assign rap switchports into a vlan?

In the ap group, you find the ethernet interfaces under wired AP. Create a profile with the appropriate vlan configuration. 

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
MVP
Posts: 4,271
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: how do you assign rap switchports into a vlan?

How are you using it ? IAP or Remote Access Point attached to a Controller?

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: how do you assign rap switchports into a vlan?

Hi guys,

I am using it like a RAP. I was hoping to maybe extend some internal vlans out to the rap via tunnels and assign one of the PoE switchports as a member as that vlan. Then the phones normal operation can sort successfully.
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: how do you assign rap switchports into a vlan?

Hi guys,

I am using it like a RAP. I was hoping to maybe extend some internal vlans out to the rap via tunnels and assign one of the PoE switchports as a member to that vlan or vlan pool. Then the phone's normal operation can sort successfully.
MVP
Posts: 4,271
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: how do you assign rap switchports into a vlan?

- First you need to make sure that the VLANs exist on your controller 

- Then you need to create a new Wired AP Profile and you can define it as Trunk or an Access port and add the VLANs

 

2014-12-08 05_06_21-AP Group.png

And Finally create an ethernet profile that enables PoE

2014-12-08 05_09_11-AP Group.png

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 4,271
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: how do you assign rap switchports into a vlan?

If you haven't make sure you trunk those VLANs to your controller
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Valued Contributor II
Posts: 804
Registered: ‎12-01-2014

Re: how do you assign rap switchports into a vlan?

Hi,

 

It is very simple,

 

you can configure eth-port of RAP/ CAP through " wired-ap-profile" and "enet-link-profile" under,

 

AP-group-->AP-->Ethernet interface 0 port configuration.

 

 

Eg :

 

(Aruba3200) #show ap wired-ap-profile default

Wired AP profile "default"
--------------------------
Parameter Value
--------- -----
Wired AP enable                          Disabled
Trusted Not                                  Trusted
Forward mode                             tunnel
Switchport mode                         access
Access mode VLAN                    1
Trunk mode native VLAN           1
Trunk mode allowed VLANs     1-4094
Broadcast                                   Broadcast

 

(Aruba3200) #show ap enet-link-profile default

AP Ethernet Link profile "default"
----------------------------------
Parameter Value
--------- -----
Speed                          auto
Duplex                         auto
802.3az (EEE)             Disabled
Power over Ethernet   Disabled

 

 

Hope you got some clarity on this.

 

Please feel free to comeback for any further help on this.

 

Cheers,

 

Venu Puduchery

Cheers,
Venu Puduchery,
[Is my post helped you ? Give Kudos :) ]
Guru Elite
Posts: 8,458
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: how do you assign rap switchports into a vlan?

In the ap group, you find the ethernet interfaces under wired AP. Create a profile with the appropriate vlan configuration.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: