Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-25-2013

iMAC (Apple) don't receive IP from Controller's internal DHCP server

Hello, colleagues!

 

620 controller with internal DHCP server.

4 x AP-105

Simple configuration (through Wizard), 1 VLAN, 1 SSID, WPA2

 

All clients work normally, but 1 stationary iMAC can't receive IP address from controller.

In Controller I can see MAC-address of iMAC, all parameters fine.

iPhones normally work.

 

Can you give me some advices, or what I have to do?

 

Thank you!

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,762
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: iMAC (Apple) don't receive IP from Controller's internal DHCP server

Does it get a *169 address?

 

Do this:

 

config t
logging level debug user-debug <mac address of that mac>


<connect the mac>

show log user-debug 50

 That will tell you what VLAN that device ends up in.  If it ends up in the right VLAN, we need to look at the client to see why it is not getting an ip address...

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-25-2013

Re: iMAC (Apple) don't receive IP from Controller's internal DHCP server

Hello!

 

Client getting 169 ipaddress.

 

If client go to right vlan:

How we can to look at the client to see why it is not getting an ip address...???

 

Thank you!

Regular Contributor II
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎10-29-2014

Re: iMAC (Apple) don't receive IP from Controller's internal DHCP server

In cli run  #show log network  

 

In GUI, open  monitoring> debug> process log>

In top right corner one search button is there, click on that and select he DHCP log.

 

dhcp.jpg

HTH
Cheers
SumaN
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-25-2013

Re: iMAC (Apple) don't receive IP from Controller's internal DHCP server

Client take IP-address for a little time and then drop it. And iit in cyclic.

 

I have debug logs - in attach.

 

any ideas?

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,762
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: iMAC (Apple) don't receive IP from Controller's internal DHCP server

We need to see the contents of the SSID profile  that the iMac is trying to connect to.  The logs are saying that the client is disconnecting, because it does not like something.

 

show wlan ssid-profile <name of ssid profile>

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-25-2013

Re: iMAC (Apple) don't receive IP from Controller's internal DHCP server

Here is.

 

#show wlan ssid-profile media-ssid_prof

SSID Profile "media-ssid_prof"
------------------------------
Parameter Value
--------- -----
SSID enable Enabled
ESSID media
Encryption wpa2-psk-aes wpa2-psk-tkip
Enable Management Frame Protection Disabled
Require Management Frame Protection Disabled
DTIM Interval 1 beacon periods
802.11a Basic Rates 6 12 24
802.11a Transmit Rates 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54
802.11g Basic Rates 1 2 12
802.11g Transmit Rates 1 2 5 6 9 12 18 24 36 48 54
Station Ageout Time 1000 sec
Max Transmit Attempts 8
RTS Threshold 2333 bytes
Short Preamble Enabled
Max Associations 64
Wireless Multimedia (WMM) Disabled
Wireless Multimedia U-APSD (WMM-UAPSD) Powersave Enabled
WMM TSPEC Min Inactivity Interval 0 msec
Override DSCP mappings for WMM clients Disabled
DSCP mapping for WMM voice AC N/A
DSCP mapping for WMM video AC N/A
DSCP mapping for WMM best-effort AC N/A
DSCP mapping for WMM background AC N/A
Multiple Tx Replay Counters Disabled
Hide SSID Disabled
Deny_Broadcast Probes Disabled
Local Probe Request Threshold (dB) 0
WEP Key 1 N/A
WEP Key 2 N/A
WEP Key 3 N/A
WEP Key 4 N/A
WEP Transmit Key Index 1
WPA Hexkey N/A
WPA Passphrase ********
Maximum Transmit Failures 0
BC/MC Rate Optimization Disabled
Rate Optimization for delivering EAPOL frames Enabled
Strict Spectralink Voice Protocol (SVP) Disabled
High-throughput SSID Profile media-htssid_prof
802.11g Beacon Rate default
802.11a Beacon Rate default
Video Multicast Rate Optimization default
Advertise QBSS Load IE Disabled
Advertise Location Info Disabled
Advertise AP Name Disabled
802.11r Profile N/A
Enforce user vlan for open stations Disabled
Enable OKC Enabled

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,762
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: iMAC (Apple) don't receive IP from Controller's internal DHCP server

The only things that I can see are:

 

Opportunistic Key Caching (Enable OKC) - MACs did not support this back in the day.  I would try disabling it.

 

802.11g- basic rate of 12 - the default is normally 1,2 and Not 12 - Not sure it would have any effect, but try removing 12.

 

Multiple Encryption of WPA2-PSK-AES and WPA2-PSK-TKIP - I would type "show dot1x supplicant-info list-all" to see what clients are using AES and what clients are using TKIP.  If they are all using AES, I would drop TKIP support and see if your imac connects.

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-25-2013

Re: iMAC (Apple) don't receive IP from Controller's internal DHCP server

Opportunistic Key Caching (Enable OKC) - MACs did not support this back in the day.  I would try disabling it.

 

I was trying to disable OKC - don't help

 

Multiple Encryption of WPA2-PSK-AES and WPA2-PSK-TKIP

 

Was trying AES or TKIP - don't help.

 

iMAC client connect to SSID receive IP-address, after some little time take own IP-address 169.254.x.x, then take right IP-address, than take 196.254.x.x and cyclic.

 

Any more ideas?

 

Thank you!

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,762
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: iMAC (Apple) don't receive IP from Controller's internal DHCP server

You might want to open a case with Apple.  I dont know the version of MACOS on that device and there could be something specific that is wrong.

 

On the imac side, you could enable debugging:

 

sudo /usr/libexec/airportd debug +alluserland +alldriver +allvendor

 It will ask for the root password.  After you enter it, it should start debugging, and you should be able to see the output in the Console application on the mac while it is trying to connect to see what the issue is.  Again, no matter what message you see there, it is possible only apple can help you.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: