Wireless Access

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-02-2014

ip local config - add a dhcp option

I am starting to use the VIA client for some users.   We will not allow split tunnel access and therefore all internet traffic for these users will have to go through internal our proxy server.   To simplify access for IE users I would like to add the proxy auto config option 252 to the internal DHCP server in my controller.   Is it possible to add option 252?

 

 

MVP
Posts: 1,412
Registered: ‎11-30-2011

Re: ip local config - add a dhcp option

no direct experience but in principe it should be possible if you run the high enough ArubaOS, not sure about the version.

 

look at Network > IP > DHCP > Edit DHCP Pool (clients) and the at options.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-02-2014

Re: ip local config - add a dhcp option

This is correct for a standard DHCP pool and it looks like it is possible to add any DHCP option.   However VIA seems to only use the IPSEC address pool found under

Advanced Services > VPN Services > IPSEC - Address Pools.

There are no options in the GUI but I was hoping there may be some command line options.   The command 'ip local pool ....' does not seem to have the same options as ip dhcp pool.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-02-2014

Re: ip local config - add a dhcp option

I should have mentioned

AOS: 6.3.1.6 on a 3200 controller

MVP
Posts: 1,412
Registered: ‎11-30-2011

Re: ip local config - add a dhcp option

ah sorry, missed that one, no then it doesnt seem possible.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-02-2014

Re: ip local config - add a dhcp option

There is a potentially better solution.   Is it possible to capture any request sent to wpad.mycompany.com and redirect it to a specific web server?   This will be a better solution as it will work with all web browsers.   I can't do this in our dns as we work with one flat domain globally and it can cause some problems.

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-24-2014

Re: ip local config - add a dhcp option

I have the exact issue with trying to have my VIA configured with wpad. Not sure why it would be different for this pool then a dhcp server. 

I would even entertain the idea of assigning a vlan when connected that has a full dhcp server running with the wpad dhcp option set.

 

We can't be the only ones who want users on  the VPN to use the proxy for internet. 

MVP
Posts: 1,412
Registered: ‎11-30-2011

Re: ip local config - add a dhcp option

put it on the idea portal, with enough votes it might end up getting in there.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: