Wireless Access

Reply
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎10-22-2010

let an adhoc network work.

Hi 

 

We have a adhoc network, for example its ssid is SSID1, it works on g-band. 

 

I want to have this adhoc network functioning. while i want other adhoc networks to be detected and protected from it. 

 

 

 

so, i have the  options "Detect Adhoc Networks" and "Protect from Adhoc Networks" turned on in the "IDS Unauthorized Device profile" 

 

My needed adhoc network SSID1 is having issues to work on the vicinity of the APs in the infrastructure. however the same adhoc network works fine away from the infrastructure APs. 

 

Any suggestions, on how i could have my needed adhoc network working. My infrastructure controller should not do any IDS activity on the needed adhoc network. 

 

 

 

 

 

MVP
Posts: 4,225
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: let an adhoc network work.

 

Make sure you don't wireless containment on .

 

You can also create an IDS rule that include that SSID as valid :

 

(controller) (config) #ids ?
ap-classification-rule  IDS AP Classification Rule profile

 http://www.arubanetworks.com/techdocs/ArubaOS_61/ArubaOS_61_CLI/ids.htm

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎10-22-2010

Re: let an adhoc network work.

Hi Victor, 

 

I am not able to set a ibss network as valid. 

 


(OAW-4604) #show wms ap list | include network1
d8:c7:c8:c7:27:a3 2 02:26:c6:06:61:a5 network1 62 165 0 interfering 2 open yes
d8:c7:c8:cc:e4:fc 2 02:26:c6:06:61:a5 network1 27 191 1036 interfering 2 open yes

(OAW-4604) #
(OAW-4604) #wms ap 02:26:c6:06:61:a5 mode valid

Valid classification not allowed for Adhoc (IBSS) AP

MVP
Posts: 4,225
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: let an adhoc network work.

[ Edited ]

 

What AOS are you using ?

 

I am able to do it with no issues

 

(controller) #show  ap  monitor ap-list ap-name test-225-4

Monitored AP Table
------------------
bssid              essid             chan  ap-type      phy-type        dos      dt/mt          ut/it    encr            nstas  avg-rssi  curr-rssi  wmacs  ibss
-----              -----             ----  -------      --------        ---      -----          -----    ----            -----  --------  ---------  -----  ----

00:13:10:e2:c3:fe  brandeis_comcast  11    interfering  80211b/g        disable  32962/26877    586/14   wpa2-psk-aes    1      0         12         1      n

(controller) #show  wms ap list | include comcast
9c:1c:12:c0:92:b8  2      00:13:10:e2:c3:fe  brandeis_comcast           0     163  0     neighbor     0                     wpa2-psk-aes    no
9c:1c:12:c0:93:22  2      00:13:10:e2:c3:fe  brandeis_comcast  16    174  1892  neighbor              1                                    wpa2-psk-aes    no
9c:1c:12:c0:94:5c  2      00:13:10:e2:c3:fe  brandeis_comcast  46    186  0     neighbor     2                     wpa2-psk-aes    no
9c:1c:12:c0:94:6a  2      00:13:10:e2:c3:fe  brandeis_comcast  32    178  2314  neighbor     1                     wpa2-psk-aes    no
9c:1c:12:c0:94:9c  2      00:13:10:e2:c3:fe  brandeis_comcast  4     176  246   neighbor              0                               wpa2-psk-aes    no
9c:1c:12:c0:94:a0  2      00:13:10:e2:c3:fe  brandeis_comcast  0     186  0     neighbor     0                                    wpa2-psk-aes    no
9c:1c:12:c0:94:a8  2      00:13:10:e2:c3:fe  brandeis_comcast  6     176  2     neighbor     0                                   wpa2-psk-aes    no

 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎10-22-2010

Re: let an adhoc network work.

[ Edited ]

Hi Victor, 

 

The code in which i was working was 6.1.3.1, i did as well check in the 6.1.3.10. 

 

Working with the TAC, they mentioned its not possible to set an IBSS network as valid, and keep it away from being contained, while the other adhoc networks be contained. 

 

They suggested to make an feature request. 

 

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: