Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

port channel between CISCO WS-C6509-E and ARUBA 3600 ------ Input Errors on ARUBA

hi,

 

I have a lot of input errors for 5 ARUBA controllers with portchannel. All ARUBA controllers are connected to Cisco 6500. I am not sure when problem started, but probably after replacing Cisco 6500. Have you some idea, what can be checked or changed ?

 

 

CISCO SIDE

 

basic info

cisco WS-C6509-E
Version 15.1(1)SY1


All interfaces which are connected to ARUBA have types - 10/100/1000BaseT

 

configuration
interface Port-channel201
 description EtherChan NYKARUBA01
 switchport
 switchport mode trunk
 switchport nonegotiate

interface GigabitEthernet1/6/5
 description Portchan 201 to NYKARUBA01
 switchport
 switchport mode trunk
 switchport nonegotiate
 no cdp enable
 channel-group 201 mode active

interface GigabitEthernet2/6/5
 description Portchan 201 to NYKARUBA01
 switchport
 switchport mode trunk
 switchport nonegotiate
 no cdp enable
 channel-group 201 mode active

 

ARUBA SIDE

 

basic info

Model Aruba3600
Version 6.2.1.2

 


interface port-channel 0
790915827 input error bytes

interface gigabitethernet 1/0
790911428 input error bytes

interface gigabitethernet 1/1
7580 input error bytes

 

configuration
interface port-channel 0
        trusted
        trusted vlan 1-4094
        switchport mode trunk
        switchport trunk allowed vlan 1,1220,1230,1320,1330-1332,1420-1424
        no spanning-tree
      
interface gigabitethernet 1/0
        description "GE1/0"
        trusted
        trusted vlan 1-4094
        switchport mode trunk
        lacp group 0 mode active

interface gigabitethernet 1/1
        description "GE1/1"
        trusted
        trusted vlan 1-4094
        switchport mode trunk
        lacp group 0 mode active

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,768
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: port channel between CISCO WS-C6509-E and ARUBA 3600 ------ Input Errors on ARUBA

Can you make sure that the same VLANs on the Cisco side are allowed on the Aruba side?  I only see allowed VLANs on the Aruba side..

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: port channel between CISCO WS-C6509-E and ARUBA 3600 ------ Input Errors on ARUBA

I added ´´switchport trunk allowed vlan 1,1220,1230,1320,1330-1332,1420-1424´´ on cisco side, but there still input errors on ARUBA side.

MVP
Posts: 4,225
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: port channel between CISCO WS-C6509-E and ARUBA 3600 ------ Input Errors on ARUBA

[ Edited ]
You probably do but make sure you are using Aruba recommended gbics on the controller

http://www.arubanetworks.com/support-services/interoperability/#SFP-XFP
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: port channel between CISCO WS-C6509-E and ARUBA 3600 ------ Input Errors on ARUBA

I am using 10/100/1000BASE-T (RJ-45), not SFP.

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: port channel between CISCO WS-C6509-E and ARUBA 3600 ------ Input Errors on ARUBA

I have two customer which have same physical network connection.

It means that there is Cisco Switch 6500 connected via Port-channel to ARUBA 3600.

ARUBA 3600 - portchannnel 0 (gi 1/0 + gi 1/1).

I cleared counters before 6 six days and there is especially a lot of input error in device NYNARUBA01.

 

Do you think that it is ok, when there is a lot of input errors? or maybe is it normal behaviour ?

 

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(NYNARUBA01) #show interface gigabitethernet 1/0
Last clearing of "show interface" counters 6 day 0 hr 47 min 53 sec
    44333653 packets input, 11224431154 bytes
    Received 4048942 broadcasts, 0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
    3123049 input error bytes, 0 CRC, 0 frame

(NYNARUBA01) #show interface gigabitethernet 1/1
Last clearing of "show interface" counters 6 day 0 hr 47 min 57 sec
    18386869 packets input, 4708390157 bytes
    Received 481551 broadcasts, 0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
    20 input error bytes, 0 CRC, 0 frame

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(HAN-RES-029-ARUBA1) #show interface gigabitethernet 1/0
Last clearing of "show interface" counters 6 day 0 hr 50 min 0 sec
    131698854 packets input, 141993577801 bytes
    Received 1474241 broadcasts, 0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
    17541 input error bytes, 0 CRC, 0 frame
    
(HAN-RES-029-ARUBA1) #show interface gigabitethernet 1/1
Last clearing of "show interface" counters 6 day 0 hr 50 min 1 sec
    55661025 packets input, 10655092070 bytes
    Received 1708014 broadcasts, 0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
    51681 input error bytes, 9 CRC, 0 frame
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: port channel between CISCO WS-C6509-E and ARUBA 3600 ------ Input Errors on ARUBA

is ARUBA using only LACP protocol ? can I set static port-channel ?

 

probably I will try to turn off portchannel and I will try connect only one physical cabel.

 

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,768
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: port channel between CISCO WS-C6509-E and ARUBA 3600 ------ Input Errors on ARUBA

[ Edited ]

If  it is a trunk, please make sure the allowed vlans match on both sides.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: port channel between CISCO WS-C6509-E and ARUBA 3600 ------ Input Errors on ARUBA

I found root cause. It was STP. I added bpdu filter on CISCO switchports + I denied STP on ARUBA and then input errors on ARUBA interfaces disappeared.


cjoseph wrote:

If  it is a trunk, please make sure the allowed vlans match on both sides.


 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: