Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎11-01-2010

upgrade from 6.3.1.3 to 6.3.1.5 - reg domain mismatch on APs with "Specific AP" configs

Hi all,

 

Moving from 6.1.3.3 to 6.3.1.5 I experienced an issue with only my APs with  "Specific AP" configs on APs where I had the power levels set differently than the rest of the APs in the AP group.  These APs with specific configs came up with the "regulatory domain mismatch" flag and where showing up as Air Monitors.

 

Never seen this before when upgrading AOS.

 

The only way to clear this i found was to just remove the ap specifc config from the AP. 

 

All APs are US based,  I was able to replicate this on a 3200XM and 3600 controller in two totally different WLAN enviroments.   APs in play are either IAP104-US or IAP105-US that were converted to be CAPs.

 

any one else see this? or have any thoughts about it?

 

Thanks.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,561
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: upgrade from 6.3.1.3 to 6.3.1.5 - reg domain mismatch on APs with "Specific AP" config

sabretigers,

 

If you have the previous config, please open up a case with support so that they can attempt to replicate.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎11-01-2010

Re: upgrade from 6.3.1.3 to 6.3.1.5 - reg domain mismatch on APs with "Specific AP" config

i can do that, but what troubles me is I saw this on two totally different WLANs, with totally different configs and controllers, both moving to 6.3.1.5.

 

the only similiarities is the APs in use where all IAP104-US or IAP105-US

 

I forgot to mention that one of was going from 6.1.3.10 to 6.3.1.5 on the 3200XM,   and the 3600 was 6.3.1.3 to 6.3.1.5

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,561
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: upgrade from 6.3.1.3 to 6.3.1.5 - reg domain mismatch on APs with "Specific AP" config

Sabretigers,

Maybe someone else on here can say if they experienced the same thing. Our chances of replicating, identifying and fixing the issue increases if we can get your specific data to zero in on it. If we try to replicate based on your description and we cannot find the issue, it stays in a holding pattern and does not get resolved. Worse is if we replicate it without your data and fix a totally different issue besides yours and do not solve your problem. At minimum if you open a case we can get your files and specifically see what happens and when.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-07-2009

Re: upgrade from 6.3.1.3 to 6.3.1.5 - reg domain mismatch on APs with "Specific AP" config

Same issue here...7210 controller, random AP125s that get the same error.

 

Also went from 6.3.1.3 to 6.3.1.4 same issue, went to 6.3.1.5...still there.

 

Work around:

 

You can goto AP specific and set to default reg. domain and the AP will go into CAP mode.

 

Bug?

 

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎11-01-2010

Re: upgrade from 6.3.1.3 to 6.3.1.5 - reg domain mismatch on APs with "Specific AP" config

thanks for the work around tip.

 

I just went in to the ap regulatory domain profile, created a new one instead of the "default", used the same values as the default profile, rebooted the AP and it came up as a CAP without issue.  Tested this theory with both controllers, and it worked on both setups.

 

Strange behavior.

 

Have a case open with the TAC. will report my findings to them.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,561
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: upgrade from 6.3.1.3 to 6.3.1.5 - reg domain mismatch on APs with "Specific AP" config

sabretigers,

 

Thank you.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,561
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: upgrade from 6.3.1.3 to 6.3.1.5 - reg domain mismatch on APs with "Specific AP" config

You probably know this already, but it is fixed in 6.3.1.6 which was released yesterday.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎11-01-2010

Re: upgrade from 6.3.1.3 to 6.3.1.5 - reg domain mismatch on APs with "Specific AP" config

Yeah, my TAC engineer let me know that he was able to duplicate my issue in 6.1.3.5 with my config and that it was fixed in 6.1.3.6.

 

I will be testing this tonight afterhours with a 3200XM controller

 

thanks for the follow-up.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,561
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: upgrade from 6.3.1.3 to 6.3.1.5 - reg domain mismatch on APs with "Specific AP" config

Awesome



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: