Controllerless Networks

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

IAP-205 External Captive Portal config doesn't redirect when accessing via iPhone, Android, Windows 10 etc...

This thread has been viewed 43 times
  • 1.  IAP-205 External Captive Portal config doesn't redirect when accessing via iPhone, Android, Windows 10 etc...

Posted Apr 19, 2021 02:22 PM
      |   view attached
    This is my first time configuring an Aruba device to work with an External Captive Portal. I've configured several other APs to work with ECPs so I know what I'm doing. I followed these instructions but I can't get an iOS device running 14.4.1 (new) or an Android device running 5.1.1 (old) to automatically redirect to the ECP page. In fact, in the rules I specify "deny access" but the devices (iPhone & Android) are able to freely browse the internet once connected to WiFi. What's truly interesting is that a Windows 10 device actually redirects to https://localhost:4343/wifi/index. /wifi/index is the Url in ECP Profile.

Configuring External Captive Portal for a Guest Network (arubanetworks.com)

The IAP is running 6.4.2.0-4.1.1.0_46028. The UI won't allow me to easily select InternalServer nor will the device actually store the correct Auth Server once selected. I'm using both Edge & Chrome to try to manage this thing. Moreover, under WLAN Configuration - Security - External Splash Page, you will see localhost etc... in the attached image. I've also added an SSL cert for wifi.mydomain.com which is where my ECP page is hosted but the Controller is serving up instant.arubanetworks.com.

I'm trying to use Authentication Text as the Type which, as I understand, would require me to be able to select InternalServer. I don't want to use a Radius server.