Controllerless Networks

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Manual channel assignment not working (IAP - AP515)

This thread has been viewed 34 times
  • 1.  Manual channel assignment not working (IAP - AP515)

Posted Dec 31, 2021 02:59 AM
    Hello,

First a disclaimer - I'm new to Aruba.  So many of the nuances (ex: vs. Cisco) I'm still learning...

I have an AP515 running virtual controller.  Just one AP right now.  I'm running 8.6.0.15.

I can't seem to get my manual channel selection to "stick".  I have gone into the AP config, and changed from ARM to manual.  I'm running 80MHZ on 5ghz - so I have all that set up correctly.  From what I'm seeing / understanding - that means the two relevant channels would be 36S and 100S yes ?  I set the AP to this - and it's on that channel when it first boots.  After a short while - it kicks over to some other channel (ex: 52E).

I also tried to customize the valid channel list - and I've only selected 36S and 100S.  Once I did this, my AP went to 36E - even though I have it configured for 100S.  So that seemed to have some kind of effect - but I'm still confused as to what's happening.

So my main question is - what's the magic cocktail of knobs to turn to get manual channels to stick ?  

PS: what do the E and S channels mean ?  E = 40mhz, S = 80mhz ?  I can't seem to find a table detailing these.

Thanks in advance.

------------------------------
    Brandon Applegate

• 2.  RE: Manual channel assignment not working (IAP - AP515)

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Dec 31, 2021 11:06 AM
    What is your regulatory domain?  E = Eighty Mhz wide channels.

Any opinions expressed here are solely my own and not necessarily that of Hewlett Packard Enterprise or Aruba Networks.

• 3.  RE: Manual channel assignment not working (IAP - AP515)

Posted Dec 31, 2021 02:14 PM