Controllerless Networks

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Trying to join AP32t to existing IAP315 network

This thread has been viewed 9 times
  • 1.  Trying to join AP32t to existing IAP315 network

Posted Mar 23, 2021 11:43 PM
    First of all I have never used aruba before.  There is an existing cluster of about 40 IAP-315s, auto join is enabled.  There are 6 new AP325s (NOT the IAP-325 which I have read might be the issue...).  The new AP is configured with a static IP, in correct subnet and console shows it connects to the master when it starts up and the AP is pingable on the network.

One of the 315s is the master AP everything is running 8.3.x which is above the 6.4.4 minimum spec required though I know we have some updates to do.   I read earlier that there is a massive difference between the IAP and the AP and the lack of 'instant' whatever that means. Instant what?  There is very limited information on the aruba site about compatibility and the differences between these models.

The short version is the new AP never makes it into the existing cluster and doesn't give any sort of clue as to why. Are we trying to achieve something that doesn't work?

Thanks

------------------------------
    Martin Macdonald

• 2.  RE: Trying to join AP32t to existing IAP315 network

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Mar 24, 2021 03:58 AM
    You can only cluster IAP together. AP type Access Points require an external controller and can't be part of an Instant cluster.

Herman Robers
    ------------------------