Community Feedback

View Only
last person joined: 4 days ago 

How is the community doing? Do you have any questions or feedback related for the Airheads Community team? This is the place to let us know.
Expand all | Collapse all

Equipment vendor asking for 5GHz channels to be dedicated for their equipment

This thread has been viewed 18 times
  • 1.  Equipment vendor asking for 5GHz channels to be dedicated for their equipment

Posted Jul 13, 2020 09:49 AM

I work in a hospital and a vendor for some of the equipment the sends telemetry data wirelessly to monitoring stations is wanting to put their own infrastructure in for the equipment and they want us to dedicate 3 channels from the 5GHz band to accommodate them. I have never heard of equipment needing their own dedicated channels when every piece of wireless equipment has the ability to autodetect the least obtrusive channel to use automatically. I am thinking they are being ridiculous and don't want to do it with he thought that if we cater to this vendor, then we will cater to someone else and soon be out of channels for our own equipment. Has anyone ever heard of this practice or am I correct in thinking that this vendor is being crazy?

• 2.  RE: Equipment vendor asking for 5GHz channels to be dedicated for their equipment

Posted Jul 13, 2020 10:55 AM

Hi,

First time I saw this type of requirement. But you can serve this requirement by configuring radio profile in the access point.

• 3.  RE: Equipment vendor asking for 5GHz channels to be dedicated for their equipment

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jul 13, 2020 11:04 AM