Wired Intelligent Edge

View Only
last person joined: 2 days ago 

Bring performance and reliability to your network with the HPE Aruba Networking Core, Aggregation, and Access layer switches. Discuss the latest features and functionality of your switching devices, and find ways to improve security across your network to bring together a mobile-first solution
Expand all | Collapse all

Aruba 3810M provisioned stack switch replacement.

This thread has been viewed 48 times
  • 1.  Aruba 3810M provisioned stack switch replacement.

Posted Mar 29, 2021 11:03 AM
    Hello Everyone.

I am new to Aruba switches and would appreciate some clarification with the content of the below document.
    https://community.arubanetworks.com/HigherLogic/System/DownloadDocumentFile.ashx?DocumentFileKey=cb2c3af1-9d88-4070-be11-51eda7ba993b

On page 7 of the document (Replacing a stack member), it stipulates that one of the reasons for replacing a stack member would be to "increase capacity", i.e replacing a 24 port stack member with a 48 port switch of the same model.

Question:
    1. when provisioning a switch prior to stacking, is the member-specific configuration (vlan.dat and other config files) distributed amongst other stack members? 
    2. If the answer to question 1 is Yes, when replacing a failed provisioned stack member, is there a need to backup the member-specific configuration and restore them to the replacement switch?
    3. In the case of a none provisioned stack member, are the configuration and vlan.dat files automatically copied to the replacement switch?

Thank you.

------------------------------
    obi jessie

• 2.  RE: Aruba 3810M provisioned stack switch replacement.

MVP GURU
    Posted Mar 30, 2021 11:25 AM
    Hello obi jessie,