Wired Intelligent Edge

View Only
last person joined: 20 hours ago 

Bring performance and reliability to your network with the HPE Aruba Networking Core, Aggregation, and Access layer switches. Discuss the latest features and functionality of your switching devices, and find ways to improve security across your network to bring together a mobile-first solution
Expand all | Collapse all

Validate Trunking between switches?

This thread has been viewed 37 times
  • 1.  Validate Trunking between switches?

Posted Feb 16, 2021 12:08 PM

Hi All,

Can someone help me? I am new to HPE/Aruba switches and need to know some shortcuts :)

So how can I tell there is a trunk between my 1 gig and ten gig switches? All are HPE/Aruba. Last time I was at Data Center, I saw almost all ports are populated.

There is a "sync or stacking" cable between two 10g switches (Labeled DMZ), and 4 more 10g (labeled DB). What is the cable actually called?

There are six 1 Gig switches and there is a sync/stacking cable between one group of three (DMZ) and the other group three (DB).

How can I confirm they are connected to each other without being onsite? I have remote access and have been using the web interface. Can you please tell me an easy way from the cli how to validate I have a trunk between 10g and 1g switches that are carrying the same vlans?

I have six of these. 

HPE FF 5700-32XGT-8XG-2QSFP+ Switch JG898A

and 6 of these

HP A5500-24G-4SFP HI 

Thanks for your help!

------------------------------
    Jerry Roy

• 2.  RE: Validate Trunking between switches?

MVP GURU
    Posted Feb 16, 2021 03:28 PM