Wired Intelligent Edge

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Bring performance and reliability to your network with the HPE Aruba Networking Core, Aggregation, and Access layer switches. Discuss the latest features and functionality of your switching devices, and find ways to improve security across your network to bring together a mobile-first solution
Expand all | Collapse all

2930F Fibre Channel shows as down, really confused

This thread has been viewed 22 times
  • 1.  2930F Fibre Channel shows as down, really confused

Posted Jul 13, 2021 03:07 PM
    Hi Everyone,

I have two 2930f connected via fibre channel to a DL360 Gen9 server (2 Qlogic FC HBA cards Single Port 8GB), i've attached them using a Aruba 10GB SPF+ DAC cable that the switch reconsises as genuine but I can't get them to connect.

The server is running almalinux (centos 8 downstream), any ideas how i can get them to work, i'm new to FC so assume the worse.

Thanks

------------------------------
    Nathan Platt

• 2.  RE: 2930F Fibre Channel shows as down, really confused

MVP GURU
    Posted Jul 13, 2021 03:27 PM
    Hello Nathan, despite SFP form factor of a 4/8/16 FC (FibreChannel) Transceiver form factor is equal to the 1/10/25 (Ethernet) Transceiver form factors (SFP/SFP+) the Aruba 2930M SFP/SFP+ slots are not capable of handling FC Transceivers...in other terms no FCoE (FibreChannel over Ethernet) can be done on Aruba 2930F.

Only particular Datacenter switches can handle FCoE (with proper FC Transceivers installed).

That's to say that you can't connect an HPE ProLiant DL360 Gen 9 Server's HBA FC 8 Gbps ports (FibreChannel) on a Ethernet Switch, no matter that switch supports the SFP/SFP+ form factors for Ethernet Transceivers (or DACs).