Security

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Mac authentication & Profiling

This thread has been viewed 82 times
  • 1.  Mac authentication & Profiling

Posted Jul 19, 2021 02:34 PM
    Hello Experts, 
    I was wondering with the difference could be. I came accross an implementation on clearpass where all printers MAC are added via static-host entries and IAP via profiling. Whats really makes the difference? Printers could still have been added via profiling?  I was told to get an IAP work, it needs to be connected to an untrusted (non enable clearspass) port for clearpass to profile it and later on enable the clearpass on the port before it will work. Can anyone please explain this to me? I am new to this Product. 

Best regards

------------------------------
    Emmanuel Egbewatt

• 2.  RE: Mac authentication & Profiling

Posted Jul 20, 2021 02:31 AM
    Use of SHL vs profile for the printer may be as simple as not wanting all printers to be allow, but only certain printers. Profiling with SHL can add a little extra, but dhcp-client conf file can be easily edited to make the clients have the same dhcp fingerprint as a printer while you configure your hardware MAC address to spoof the printer. 

End of the day it is still Mac auth so make sure you also use ACLs to tighten the access down. 

As for IAP and authenticated ports...
    It depends on the switch and firmware. If we're talking about Aruba switches, it will need to support device port-mode. 

Something like:
    aaa authorization user-role name "IAP-ROLE-NAME"
    vlan-id 999
    vlan-id-tagged 123,124
    device
        poe-priority high 
        port-mode
        exit
    exit

• 3.  RE: Mac authentication & Profiling

Posted Jul 20, 2021 05:02 AM
      |   view attached