Wireless Access

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Zoom call woes

This thread has been viewed 97 times
  • 1.  Zoom call woes

Posted Oct 12, 2020 10:33 AM

Hello,

AOS 8.6.0.5

Cluster (10 MDs)

6,500 APs

We are getting reports of users having issues with videoconferencing, this seems to be particularly bad for Zoom users. It's the start of term so there's a lot of 'noise' and it's hard to know what are real issues and what are the usual kinds of end user problems. But it has prompted us to look at what we can do to mitigate this kind of thing.

I'm new to the classification side of things, I know UCC is designed to help with this. Is there anything we can/should do a) specifically for Zoom? b) in general for video calls and the like (eg is there a VRD for this? I couldn't see one).

Thank you,

Guy

• 2.  RE: Zoom call woes

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Oct 12, 2020 11:47 AM

There are some improved classifications for Zoom in 8.7, but it only identifies it, it does not provide QOS that I am aware of.

If you wanted to do this the quick and dirty way, I would define a netdestination of *.zoom.us and prioritize traffic to and from that destination.

• 3.  RE: Zoom call woes

Posted Oct 12, 2020 06:55 PM

Thanks Colin, that's very useful. We might try that as it looks like this is a problem at the moment.

So would we set the queue to high for that destination in an ACL (I'm just looking at an existing facetime-acl on the system)?

• 4.  RE: Zoom call woes
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Oct 12, 2020 07:11 PM

This is a sample of what I have:

config t
    netdestination zoom
        description "Zoom"
        name *.zoom.us
    ip access-list session zoom
        any alias zoom any permit disable-scanning queue high tos 46 dot1p-priority 7