Wireless Access

View Only
last person joined: 12 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

802.1x + Mac authen

This thread has been viewed 17 times
  • 1.  802.1x + Mac authen

Posted Dec 07, 2021 12:05 PM
    Hello everyone!

My customer recently purchase 7005 controller and want to set up a SSID using "802.1X with Windows NPS" + "Mac authen with internal DB".
    I tried to set up but the role that the client got last is confusing me. 

Base on my understanding the flow should be like:  
    internal DB mac authen -> client get mac authen default role -> 802.1x external AD authen -> client get 802.1x default role.  Is this not correct?

Or should it be like this:
    802.1x external AD authen -> client get 802.1x default role -> internal DB mac authen -> client get mac authen default role.

Sorry if my question is dumb, I am very new to aruba :P

Best Regards,
    Kenji Wong

------------------------------
    kenji Wong

• 2.  RE: 802.1x + Mac authen

MVP GURU
    Posted Dec 07, 2021 02:52 PM
    MAC-AUTH will happen before 802.1x.

Dustin Burns
    Lead Mobility Engineer @WEI

ACCX 1271| ACMX 509| ACSP | ACDA | MVP Guru 2021
    If my post was useful accept solution and/or give kudos

• 3.  RE: 802.1x + Mac authen

Posted Dec 07, 2021 09:30 PM
    @DB86 Thanks for the reply. That's what I thought in the first place. However the result is interesting.

At the first tried, after the client online, he got the Machine Authentication: Default User Role from 802.1X authen profile instead of 802.1X Authentication Default Role from AAA profile.