Wireless Access

last person joined: an hour ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor and campus locations with Aruba access points, and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

PoE Negotiation/Reporting on Cisco Switches and Aruba APs

This thread has been viewed 27 times
  • 1.  PoE Negotiation/Reporting on Cisco Switches and Aruba APs

Posted 19 days ago
    Hello!

I apologize in advanced if this has already been addressed a few times.  I did a quick search but didn't find anything.  I am new to Aruba and running into an issue with AP-515s connected to my Cisco C9300 running IOS-XE 16.9.4.  According to Aruba Central, the power draw on my AP-515 is 10.77W.  However, running show power inline on the switch shows power usage at 30W.  

To be clear, I think this is a Cisco issue, not an Aruba issue.  I have also experienced this issue on other non-Cisco APs (E.G. Ruckus) on Cisco 3850s running both 16.9.X as well as older versions of IOS-XE.  I think its an issue with Cisco not properly negotiating and/or reporting power usage with lldp clients.  I have spent 20-30 minutes digging into Cisco documentation, but to no avail.  My concern is that the switch is allocating the maximum wattage on a per-port basis, and that means we will not be able to power on every access point in a couple of closets.

Just curious if any seasoned admins had run across this and had a quick answer.  Thank you in advance, and I am more than happy to provide additional details should they be required.

• 2.  RE: PoE Negotiation/Reporting on Cisco Switches and Aruba APs

Posted 15 days ago
    Hi procopius1980,

Good spotting. This is commonly unnoticed until switch PoE budget is prematurely exhausted.