Wireless Access

View Only
last person joined: 17 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

ClearPass resiliency with external Captive Portal

This thread has been viewed 27 times
  • 1.  ClearPass resiliency with external Captive Portal

Posted Nov 23, 2020 01:19 PM
    Are there any supported options for resiliency / High Availability with ClearPass Guest ?
    I have a Publisher/Subscriber setup with the two servers in different Datacenters with different subnets.
    ClearPass 6.8.5.230350
    MM /MDs : 8.5.0.10
    Campus AP setup

I am looking to setup an external captive portal on my ClearPass Publisher for my environment.  What will happen if the Publisher fails or is brought down for maintenance?  How can have my Subscriber hold a backup portal?

------------------------------
    PetRock

• 2.  RE: ClearPass resiliency with external Captive Portal

Posted Nov 24, 2020 07:49 AM
    Ideally you should consider ClearPass nodes in the same subnet for guest access. You can run VRRP between the nodes and create a DNS entry for the VIP.

In your case with L3 separation between the nodes, this is what I can think of:
    - Create a separate DNS entry for each ClearPass IP
    - Create a new certificate with SAN having both IPs/Domains or a separate certificate for each ClearPass node
    - Use any of the "DNS failover" solution to start resolving to second ClearPass IP in case the primary node goes down. There are other providers but I know AWS route 53 can do that:
    https://docs.aws.amazon.com/Route53/latest/DeveloperGuide/dns-failover-configuring.html

Jibran Aziz

• 3.  RE: ClearPass resiliency with external Captive Portal
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Nov 24, 2020 11:26 AM