Wireless Access

View Only
last person joined: 22 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Need help with the basics

This thread has been viewed 24 times
  • 1.  Need help with the basics

Posted Apr 05, 2022 07:10 AM
    Hello All,
    I am a new network administrator for a school and this is my first time working with aruba controllers. 
    I need help getting my iPads connected to the controller via Apple configurator and this post will be about certificates.

When I connect an apple device to the wifi, it will pop up with a window asking me to trust the Aruba Server certificate (which expired in 2020). I can connect this way, but would like to try to set it up so I don't have to type in the password for each iPad (this is why I need to use configurator).
    I am VERY new to certificates, so I don't know how this works. I assume that the Aruba controller needs a certificate, and the iPads also need a certificate (given from Apple configurator). I just don't know what kind of certificates they need and how to generate them. If anyone can point me in the right direction, I would appreciate it.
    Our network is simple (we are just using a WPA2 Enterprise PEAP without individual logins. That is, there are "staff" and "student" logins to the wifi).
    I do have access to the webGUI and can SSH, but I don't even know how to find the model name. A big problem is that all of the pages I find do not apply to my specific model (commands, and webGUI are different).

This is all the info I can find:
    Name:
    Aruba Operating System Software
    Type:
    Build Time:
    2018-10-04 03:53:40 UTC (build 67129) by p4build
    Version:

I apologize if I am posting in the wrong area, but would like a point in the right direction if this is the wrong forum. Thank you!

------------------------------
    Charlie Peters