Wireless Access

View Only
last person joined: 15 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

AP-515, AOS8.7.1.1 in a reboot loop

This thread has been viewed 53 times
  • 1.  AP-515, AOS8.7.1.1 in a reboot loop

Posted Jan 19, 2021 10:28 AM

Good morning,

I'm pretty new to Aruba WiFi as we're in the middle of a migration from Cisco so sorry if I get some terminology wrong here!

We had to upgrade our 7210 controller estate to 8.7 to enable support for AP-503H APs, perhaps mistakenly I went for the latest and greatest (8.7.1.1). The process worked pretty well with preuploading the images and the sequential upgrades limiting outage except for 10 of our ~60 AP-515s did not rejoin the controllers post firmware. We rolled back to 8.6.0.6 to see if it was a specific issue to 8.7.1.1. I've pulled one of the affected AP-515s out, done a factory default reset and it just worked fine rejoining the controllers, pulling it's config and downgrading to 8.6.0.6 without a hitch, additionally it had upgraded to 8.7.1.1 however it was not joining the controller properly. The serial output shows nothing too exciting except things around the master selection:

net.ipv4.conf.all.arp_notify = 1
    Getting an IP address...
    [ 26.011530] device eth0 entered promiscuous mode
    [ 30.504330] Enabling USB power
    [ 30.571121] POE power conditions have improved: the new condition is 'POE-AT: No restrictions'
    net.ipv4.conf.all.arp_notify = 0
    net.ipv4.conf.br0.arp_notify = 1
    10.1.1.67 255.255.240.0 10.1.0.1
    Running ADP...Done. Master is
    Starting Webserver
    bind: Address already in use
    [ 44.784571] usbcore: registered new interface driver usbserial
    [ 44.847324] usbcore: registered new interface driver usbserial_generic
    [ 44.925547] usbserial: USB Serial support registered for generic