Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Clearpass captive portal question

This thread has been viewed 3 times
  • 1.  Clearpass captive portal question

Posted Mar 28, 2018 02:23 PM

Hi

I am quite new to Clearpass. We are about deploy 4 CPPM servers in a single cluster. Regarding the guest captive portal is that load balanced accross all the servers or does it just run on one of them? 

Do i need to place a load balancer in from of the servers to provide high availabilty of captive portal?

We will be using the latest 6.7 version.

• 2.  RE: Clearpass captive portal question
    Best Answer

Posted Mar 28, 2018 02:31 PM

By using a VIP with your cluster you can make the Captive Portal Page Highly Available.  For load balancing you can use the load balancing feature in ArubaOS under Configuration > Authentication > Servers > Server Group > Load Balancing check box.  Or if you have a load balancer such as an F5 or NetScaler you can run them through that.

• 3.  RE: Clearpass captive portal question

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Mar 28, 2018 02:32 PM

Will all four CPPM appliances be reachable by guests so that they can serve as captive portal?

A load balancer could be used, or techniques such as DNS round robin load balancing and/or Virtual IPs on the CPPM appliances to help distribute the load and provide high availablity. Ultimately, you have options available based on your end requirements.

• 4.  RE: Clearpass captive portal question

Posted Mar 28, 2018 02:47 PM

I was planning to have the portal on all 4 of them just for availbility and nothing else. Load wont be very hight but availability is important for us.

We do have Netscalers so may look to use those.

Now i just neeed to figure out how to get the Guest traffic from a Branch office to the portal :-(