Security

last person joined: yesterday 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

W2K IAS + Aruba 3400 intermittent authentication issues

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  W2K IAS + Aruba 3400 intermittent authentication issues

Posted Jul 27, 2012 12:37 PM

Hello all,

I'm new to Aruba and enterprise wireless in general, so please bear with me. We have a network set up where the user authenticates onto the wireless when he/she logs into Windows. This generally works fine, and the logs on our IAS system recognize the usernames and grant access.

Here's an example of our successful associations:

User DOMAIN\username was granted access.
     Fully-Qualified-User-Name = domain.com/AD_Group/username
     NAS-IP-Address = 172.24.1.4
     NAS-Identifier = <not present>
     Client-Friendly-Name = Aruba-3400
     Client-IP-Address = 172.24.1.4
     NAS-Port-Type = 19
     NAS-Port = 0
     Policy-Name = Aruba wireless
     Authentication-Type = MS-CHAPv2
     EAP-Type = <undetermined>

The problem lies in that when we lose connectivity briefly (when roaming doesn't quite work right, or we walk to far from a signal, or put the computer to sleep and wake it up) the client OS begins requesting additional information to connect - username and password for the user. When a user enters the requested information, it refuses to re-authenticate. The log on the IAS server that is generated is this:

User DOMAIN\username was denied access.
     Fully-Qualified-User-Name = DOMAIN\username
     NAS-IP-Address = 172.24.1.4
     NAS-Identifier = <not present>
     Called-Station-Identifier = 000B86616664
     Calling-Station-Identifier = 0024D6AD2830
     Client-Friendly-Name = Aruba-3400
     Client-IP-Address = 172.24.1.4
     NAS-Port-Type = 19
     NAS-Port = 0
     Policy-Name = <undetermined>