Wireless Access

View Only
last person joined: 17 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

7210 Controller Firmware Upgrade from 6.x to 8.x

This thread has been viewed 72 times
  • 1.  7210 Controller Firmware Upgrade from 6.x to 8.x

Posted Apr 29, 2021 01:58 PM
    Hi

I am new to Aruba wireless, what would be the best way or procedure to upgrade my Aruba Controller 7210 from 6.x to 8.x firmware?
    Current firmware is 6.5.4.8. I have 120 Active APs with 3 groups.

Thank You.

------------------------------
    Enrico Cayetano

• 2.  RE: 7210 Controller Firmware Upgrade from 6.x to 8.x

MVP GURU
    Posted Apr 29, 2021 02:47 PM
    An upgrade to 8.x from any 6.x version would mean a wiped and rebuilt configuration. When you go to 8.x, the configuration of the controller will be wiped, and there is no restore from backup if the backup is from 6.x.

I would recommend managing it via Mobility Conductor. This way if you only have one controller, you can build out the configuration there first instead of doing it all during one cut window.

If you do have a spare controller, I would build and test on that, and then migrate the APs to the new controller.

Dustin Burns

If my post was useful accept solution and/or give kudos

• 3.  RE: 7210 Controller Firmware Upgrade from 6.x to 8.x

Posted Apr 29, 2021 09:15 PM
    Thank you for your response.

I have a spare 7210 controller which is also in 6.x firmware and I'm planning to use it as a backup controller in the future, so the best way would be

1) Upgrade the firmware of the spare controller to 8.x via local file or USB?
    2) Copy/Create the same configuration from the existing controller to the new 8.x spare controller?

What about the Centralized Licences from the old 6.x controller? Will it work in the new 8.x controller? Or do I have to convert my licenses?