Wireless Water Cooler

View Only
last person joined: 11 days ago 

Hang out and socialize with other community members in this off topic forum. Everything from industry trends to hobbies and interests are welcomed!
Expand all | Collapse all

Which Log file in Support?

This thread has been viewed 15 times
  • 1.  Which Log file in Support?

Posted Oct 20, 2020 05:55 AM

Hi 

I am relatively new to Aruba and brand new to the forum.

I have an AP515 test network using Virtual Controller. I have 3 AP's in the cluster. I have been trying to find the cause of intermittent disconnections of certain client devices on my network. I am trying to find out which of the log/dump files available in the "Support" area of the VC would be best for diagnosing the cause of a client disconnecting and when in fact it happened. I can see successful connections and movements between AP's but struggle to understand when and why something may have dropped offline. Does anybody have any suggestions.

Thanks

• 2.  RE: Which Log file in Support?

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Oct 22, 2020 04:45 AM

What helps for me is to configure syslog to an external server to collect all APs logging in a single place. There you can see during roaming the client disconnecting from one AP and connecting to another. That is harder to do in the UI.

Then, logs that I used in the past, which you should run per AP:

show clients     (see the active clients)
    show ap association   (see associated/connected clients)
    show ap debug client-table   (more verbose of the first command)
    show ap debug auth-trace-buf  (authentication, if happening)
    show ap arm history        (channel/power history for the AP)

Then there is 'tech-support' that runs all commands that may be relevant and the output of that has lots of information, but also may be hard to read and is initially intended for Aruba support to analyze. Support may help you to troubleshoot your issue.