Community Feedback

last person joined: 3 days ago 

How is the community doing? Do you have any questions or feedback related for the Airheads Community team? This is the place to let us know.

VLANs and SSIDs

This thread has been viewed 2 times
  • 1.  VLANs and SSIDs

Posted Dec 05, 2019 05:36 AM

I'm an experienced Cisco Wireless Architect, working to convert to Aruba, and I just want to check my understanding of some design aspects. Sorry its a long post, but mostly the answers will be "OK" or "No, don't do it!". This all relates to OS8, 70xx/72xx controllers and 5xx APs.

I have 4 communities of users: "corporate" users which will authenticate using IEEE802.1x/EAP-TLS; "Guest" users, which will be unauthenticated but which will have a splash page for the user to accept an AUP; "Semi-Trusted" users, which will authenticate by PSK (MPSK?) and "CardReaders", which consists of hand-held devices with no supplicant or ability to actively authenticate, so will use MAB.

First question: because of the nature of the client devices, I plan to use 4 SSIDs. I could use dynamic VLAN assignment (by ClearPass-driven CoA) if two or more communities had the same authentication method, but that is not the case, so I need 4 VLANs unless someone can suggest a better way (please?). With regards the card readers, I need to put them on a separate VLAN which I can then pass to a firewall to implement secondary security measures, because MAB is about as secure as leaving the front door open.