Blogs

Meet the Insiders: Amy Arnold

By PegahKamal posted Mar 12, 2018 12:06 PM

I sat down with Amy Arnold, a senior network engineer in the public sector, to get her perspective on the conference and the future of technology. Amy will be blogging about the show. Follow her on Twitter at @amyengineer and bookmark Amy’s blog to hear more about her action-packed days as a network engineer in the trenches.

PK: When you’re not hanging out at ATM18, what’s your day job?AmyArnold_headshot.png

AA: I’m a senior network engineer in the public sector. I do anything that touches the network – route, switch, wireless, security and voice. I design, plan and operate, install and troubleshoot. I have a small team, so we work on all the things that touch the network. We also help the server and helpdesk people.

PK: How did you get into networking?

AA: I took the long way. I went to law school for one week, then dropped out. I started taking classes at local colleges and signed up for programming and networking classes. I loved the networking class—and I loved networking, so I got those certifications. In my first job, the company didn’t have real switches, so I helped with servers and worked my way up from there.

I am definitely a nerd. My dad is a software engineer and long-time techie. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

PK: What motivates you to do what you do?

AA: I’ve always liked problem-solving and challenges, and networking is pretty much problem solving all day long. One of the reasons I’m in public sector is that I enjoy giving back to the community, supporting the people who are putting their lives on the line or making our lives better.

PK: What is the first thing you’ll do when you get to Vegas for ATM18?

AA: Get coffee. I’ve got an early flight on Monday.

PK: What’s the coolest part about ATM?

AA: I’ve never been to Atmosphere before. I’m looking forward to meeting new people, taking a deep dive into information and networking with peers.