How many modulation and coding scheme (MCS) Aruba Support?

Aruba Employee
Aruba Employee

Product and Software: This article applies to ArubaOS Version


802.11n data rates are defined with a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) matrix.

Non-HT radios (802.11a/g) used OFDM / ERP-OFDM technologies defines 6 Mbps to 54 Mbps data rates.

However 802.11n HT radios, define data rates based on numerous factors like Modulation, coding method, the number of spatial streams, channel size and guard interval.

  • Modulation: BPSK, QPSK, QAM...
  • Coding: 1/2, 3/4, 5/6...
  • Number of spatial streams: 1,2,3,4
  • Guard Interval: 400ns and 800ns

There are seventy-seven modulation coding schemes exist for both 20 MHz HT channels and 40 MHz channels.

NOTE: There are eight mandatory modulation and coding schemes for 20 MHz HT channels.

Aruba support the first 24 (0-23) MCS (s).


rtaImage (11).png



rtaImage (12).png


Version history
Revision #:
1 of 1
Last update:
‎07-02-2014 04:00 PM
Updated by: