What is Wi-Fi Multimedia (WMM) and what are the access categories used to forward different types of traffic?

Aruba Employee
Aruba Employee

Product and Software: This article applies to all Aruba controllers and ArubaOS versions.

Wi-Fi Multimedia™ (WMM®), is a Wi-Fi Alliance® specification based on the IEEE 802.11e wireless Quality ofService (QoS) standard. WMM works with 802.11a, b, g, and n physical layer standards.

WMM supports four access categories: voice, video, best effort, and background. The following table shows the mapping of the WMM access categories to 802.1D priority values. The 802.1D priority value is contained in a two-byte QoS control field in the WMM data frame.

Priority         802.1D Priority   WMM Access Category

Lowest                      1                      Background

                                2                      Background

                                0                       Best Effort

                                3                       Best Effort

                                4                           Video

                                5                           Video

Highest                     6                           Voice

                                7                           Voice

In non-WMM, or hybrid, environments where some clients are not WMM-capable, Aruba uses voice and best effort to prioritize traffic from these clients.

Unscheduled Automatic Power Save Delivery (U-APSD) is a component of the IEEE 802.11e standard that extends the battery life on voice over WLAN devices. When enabled, clients trigger the delivery of buffered data from the AP by sending a data frame.

For those environments in which the wireless clients support WMM, you can enable both WMM and UAPSD in the SSID profile.

WMM does not support APs configured in bridge mode.

Version history
Revision #:
1 of 1
Last update:
‎07-04-2014 01:50 PM
Updated by:
Labels (1)
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: