Why do clients are unable to associate immediately after we purge the blacklisted entries?

MVP Expert
MVP Expert
Q:
Why do clients are unable to associate immediately after we purge the blacklisted entries?


A:
Whenever a client gets blacklisted due to any reason (Auth failure, DOS attach, etc.), the clients will be added to the blacklisted entries on the Aruba Controller and then the blacklist database will be pushed to the AP STM so that the clients cannot associate to the AP.
 
As soon as we purge the entries on the controller, the controller STM will send the update to AP STM with blacklist information and if the information does not updated properly the clients will not be able to associate.
 
We can verify the blacklist entries on an Aruba AP using below command and match with the controller blacklist entries. This delay can be caused due to some network issues and if we need to come over this situation quickly we can reboot the access Point after verifying with the below command.
 
(Aruba) #
(Aruba) #show ap remote blacklist-clients ap-name AP2

Blacklisted Clients
-------------------
STA  reason  block-time(sec)  remaining time(sec)  Flags
---  ------  ---------------  -------------------  -----

Flags: R: reject associations

(Aruba) #

Version history
Revision #:
2 of 2
Last update:
‎03-18-2019 02:13 AM
Updated by:
 
Labels (1)
Contributors
Search Airheads
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: