Controllerless Networks

Occasional Contributor I

AP374 with antenna ant-4x4-5314 and mesh

Hi ,

i am new to wireless tech, i am a storage man, At last i have managed the mesh point and portal between 2 APs,the mesh is sucesfull in our firm.I have to setup it to the outdoor customer environment.

But i am not sure how to align the antenna, how to measure the quality in the mesh link,  and etc.

If someone leads me to a document or a direction , it will be very good for me.

thanks

Re: AP374 with antenna ant-4x4-5314 and mesh

The antenna has an arrow on the back indicating the 'up'direction. Just point them at each other, make sure the arrow is up, and connect to the AP (the order really doesn't matter but I like to be consistent and use 5G0 for V, 5G1 for H, 5G2 for +45, and 5G3 for -45).

Once the link is up, on both sides (on each AP) check the following:

show ap mesh cluster status
show ap mesh link
show ap mesh neighbour

You want to see the mesh link SNR in the 30s-40s depending on link distance.

Jerrod Howard
Distinguished Technologist, TME

Hi it sounds perfect to me, 

I am builing this setup in our firm, as soon as i got outside i will try them.

But today ,while i was looking for the qality settings i noticed something else

Our aim in configuring mesh topology is, to connect 2 different buildings,with the mesh link.On each building there will be a switch and some computers that has to reach to the other site,

But in my lab environment, i see that the MeshPoint AP , boots up,and the ethernet port of that AP is down on the remote switch.

when i connect to the wireless network on the remote site, i can succesfully ping the both aps and the other pc, but if i connect with to the lan with my laptop, i cannot ping the Mesh Point AP ,

when i looked to the remote site switch, the MeshPointAp 's port is shutdown state

while mesh setup, i had chosen the MeshPortal Ap as bridge on the eth0 ,if i dont select it like that ,then mesh doesnot work