Controllerless Networks

last person joined: yesterday 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

IAP-105 won't join mesh network, red lights

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  IAP-105 won't join mesh network, red lights

Posted Apr 18, 2013 11:52 AM

I am pretty new to this stuff.  We bought two IAP-105s and they are in a mesh together.  I can access the admin page and see there are two of them.  We bought a third IAP-105 and it won't join them.  I checked the bottom and it says IAP-105 as I know many people have had the problem of trying to add an AP-105.

PWR solid green

ENET blinking green

11AN  solid red

11BGN solid red

It's strange also because once I joined the two APs together the 'instant' SSID disappeared.  Should this happen?  Is this why auto-join is not working?  The SSID of our network that I setup is still there and works fine.

What can I try? Where should I go from here?

• 2.  RE: IAP-105 won't join mesh network, red lights

Posted Apr 18, 2013 12:02 PM

The "Instant" SSID is the provisioning SSID so you can configure the AP over the air.  This disappears after your real SSIDs are configured and someone has successfully attached to the real SSIDs.   Also, if one AP has been configured it becomes the "master" AP for the group -- we call it the "Virtual Controller (VC)".  When a new member AP joins the group the VC automatically pushes the config to the new member so you will never see the "Instant" SSID from the new AP.

Auto-Join is enabled by default and it allows new member APs to join the group.

It is possible that your third AP is unable to join due to a SW mismatch.  Check the version on the two APs then check the version on the third.

Also, make sure that "Extended SSID" support is disabled as this would prevent the mesh link from coming up.

• 3.  RE: IAP-105 won't join mesh network, red lights