Controllerless Networks

last person joined: 14 hours ago 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

IAP Outdoor Mesh Deployment Question

This thread has been viewed 2 times
  • 1.  IAP Outdoor Mesh Deployment Question

Posted May 18, 2017 02:57 PM

I am rather new to IAP and mesh deployments. Here is a design I need some input on. Looking at the diagram, I would like IAPs 1 & 2  to basically be redundant Mesh portals for the other IAPs (3 through 6). IAPs 1 & 2 will be connected to the production network while IAPs 3 through 6 will connect to switches and sensor arrays. 

IP RW Aruba Design.PNG

Distances from portals to mesh IAPs will range from half mile to almost a mile, from a height of approximately five stories down to ground level. All IAPs will be IAP 277s.

Is this a feasible design and will it give me the redundancy I am looking for? Are there any special configuration items I need to be aware of? Tips? Tricks? and general advice for this type of deployment?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

• 2.  RE: IAP Outdoor Mesh Deployment Question

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 18, 2017 05:05 PM

I don't have a lot of experiece with MESH but here is an article on how to set them:

https://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Controller-less-WLANs/How-to-configure-IAPs-as-Mesh-Portal-and-Point/ta-p/186886

Not sure about the redundancy though. You may have to play with the Prefered Master option to assign your primary IAP as the Virtual Controller.

• 3.  RE: IAP Outdoor Mesh Deployment Question

Posted May 18, 2017 05:18 PM

Thanks Math,

I think I am good on everything except the redundancy part, that's my biggest question...

• 4.  RE: IAP Outdoor Mesh Deployment Question

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 18, 2017 05:43 PM