Controllerless Networks

last person joined: 23 hours ago 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Instant AP VPN -> Controller

This thread has been viewed 2 times
  • 1.  Instant AP VPN -> Controller

Posted Feb 06, 2014 03:58 AM

I have a case where I need to setup two RAP3-WNs to work with (unsupported) 3G/4G modems, send them to world and have them connect to 650 Controller with VPN. I was thinking that I'd like to these work in IAP mode in case VPN cannot be established or somebody needs to tweak the modem settings locally. I'm new to IAP's and looking advices for VPN configuration. What I've done so far:

- Setup IAP WLAN to have Virtual Controller assigned IP's

- Configured VPN and whitelisted AP from controller. VPN status is UP

From Controller I can ping IP address of remote IAP, so I think VPN is OK. And I'm testing this now over wired internet, usb modem is not configured yet. I want to get VPN working before moving to USB. 

The thing I cannot figure out, how do I configure IAP clients have their own subnet behind IAP NAT, where I make split tunnel to corporate network? I tried use the default network which IAP makes and make route in VPN settings but traffic to that network is not routed to VPN tunnel at all.

• 2.  RE: Instant AP VPN -> Controller

Posted Feb 06, 2014 04:30 AM

Some progress, I realized that I need to configure DHCP settings even if the IAP is offering something by default. So I created local DHCP and assigned that VLAN to SSID. Now I can ping controller-ip which is in destination subnet where I want to go. But still no access to other devices in that target subnet. 

• 3.  RE: Instant AP VPN -> Controller

Posted Feb 06, 2014 02:23 PM

What version are you running on the controller side?

Can you see the assigned subnet in the controller in "show iap table"?

• 4.  RE: Instant AP VPN -> Controller