Controllerless Networks

last person joined: 2 days ago 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

New to Aruba IAP, question on Channel in Mesh

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  New to Aruba IAP, question on Channel in Mesh

Posted May 13, 2019 03:36 PM

So I'm new to Aruba IAP (and this forum), and I have eight (8) new 325's deployed in a new 18,000 sqft building. Surprisingly, "instant" marketing was true, once I setup the first access point, the next 7 automatically configured (no controller).   However of the 8 access points, four of them are using 5Ghz channel 124+ (+ = wide), while the other four are all on a unique channel.  Shouldn't each of these access points choose seperate radio frequencies to help prevent radio wave contention?     On the 2.4Ghz band, they of course are limiting themselves to 1, 6 and 11 so I would expect duplicates there, but since the 5Ghz has so many more open channels I would expect each to choose another.   Even 1 access point could almost support this building, and I'm thinking having so many are causing more of a problem than a resolution to connectivity.  Thanks all! 

• 2.  RE: New to Aruba IAP, question on Channel in Mesh

Posted May 13, 2019 04:58 PM

How long has the instant group been up, with all APs online?  It does take a while for it to decide on channel allocations.

Personally I would suggest turning off the wide channels, and sticking to 20MHz width in 5GHz and in 2.4GHz. You have a small enough number of APs that you can probably get away with wide channels, but if you have any interfering APs again you will benefit from 20MHz width.

• 3.  RE: New to Aruba IAP, question on Channel in Mesh

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 13, 2019 05:36 PM