Controllerless Networks

last person joined: 14 hours ago 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Problems Changing Virtual Controller IP

This thread has been viewed 7 times
  • 1.  Problems Changing Virtual Controller IP

Posted Aug 22, 2014 09:47 PM

I've got a brand new deployment I'm working on and it's my first time using Instant. I've got 5x IAP-103's & a 7005. In this scenario the 7005 is purely acting as a router/firewall. All IAP's are running instant mode. I'm able to bring up a new AP, provision a new SSID and then I'm able to connect to that SSID succesfully. The issue I'm having is that when I cahnge the IAP's address to static and then change then configure the virtual controller IP (different IP) I lose connectivity & it never comes back. Whats really strange is that I can still access the SSID through this one AP, but cannot ping any of hte addresses associated with that IAP. Thoughts?

Is there a procedure specifically for configuring the virtual controller IP? Do I need to bring up the other IAP's in the cluster before configuring it? Is there an issue with changing an IAP's address from dynamic to static?

• 2.  RE: Problems Changing Virtual Controller IP

Posted Aug 24, 2014 12:43 AM
    Could you share with us the IP address and mask of the static IPs configured and the VC IP that was configured as well?

Thanks,

Yan Liu
    Product Manager
    Aruba Instant
    US: +1 650 996-3520
    China: +86 136 2121 6844

• 3.  RE: Problems Changing Virtual Controller IP

Posted Aug 24, 2014 01:59 AM

The virtual controller IP was going to be 192.168.60.10 & the IAP's were 192.168.60.11-15. All /24 subnet. I beet my head on this for hours and finally gave up. I converted them all to campus AP's. Honestly, I'll probably never mess with Instant again. It was a nightmare & completely unreliable.