Controllerless Networks

last person joined: 2 days ago 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Renaming/ addressing IAPs

This thread has been viewed 1 times
  • 1.  Renaming/ addressing IAPs

Posted Oct 30, 2014 04:05 PM

I have several hundred IAP clusters that I am installing, and cannot find an option to bulk rename or change IP addresses via CLI.  I know that the option exists if you touch each AP's CLI or use the GUI, but this is a long process.

Is there any method of renaming/ readdressing the IAPs from the VC's CLI?  I'm fairly new to Aruba, so if I missed it feel free to shame me.

• 2.  RE: Renaming/ addressing IAPs

Posted Oct 30, 2014 04:42 PM
    Do you have AirWave by any chance?

Thanks,

Yan

• 3.  RE: Renaming/ addressing IAPs

Posted Oct 30, 2014 05:00 PM

I do not, unfortunately.  The end user did not wish to purchase the licensing.

• 4.  RE: Renaming/ addressing IAPs

Posted Oct 31, 2014 04:28 AM

Hi,

I´m not sure what you want to do, but there are some cli commands for you:

change the name of VC:

(Instant AP)# hostname IAP1

change IP-address of an IAP:

(Instant AP)# ip-address 192.0.2.0 255.255.255.0 192.0.2.3 192.0.2.2 example.com

ip-address <ip-address> <subnet-mask> <nexthop-ip-address> <dns-ip-address> <domain-name>

I hope this helps you...

If you found my post helpful, please give kudos

• 5.  RE: Renaming/ addressing IAPs

Posted Oct 31, 2014 08:40 AM

The I know it could be done this way, but that requires that I touch every AP on site.  What I'm looking for is more of a central way of changing them via CLI, such as Ruckus has (from the controller, you can send commands to the remote AP's CLI by MAC address).  I would have expected that the VC would have had functions similar to the GUI in the CLI, but it appears not.