Controllerless Networks

last person joined: yesterday 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Roles by MAC?

This thread has been viewed 3 times
  • 1.  Roles by MAC?

Posted Sep 21, 2013 09:37 AM

Hi all!

This is my first time to setup both Aruba and Instant :)

Need some help with authentication.

I have a 2 IAP-93 running Instant 6.2.1.0-3.4.0.0_39086.

AP1: 192.168.7.2

AP2: 192.168.7.3

Instant controller:192168.7.4

DHCP, gateway:192.168.7.1

Users: 192.168.7.(5-254)

I need to split VIP users and employers:

VIPs must have unrestricted access.

Employers must have blocked URLs required (youtube, facebook, etc)

All users must see single SSID on their devices.

It must be no any portals or splash pages for all users - just find the appropriate SSID and enter password .

I found some info on community, but still have questions.

If I create a guest SSID with internal auth server with MAC based auth, how do I avoid auth portal? How do I create different roles and rules for authenticated by MAC VIP users and not complaint to VIP MACs users? According to blocking urls for not VIPs.?

Thanks a lot!

I have time until monday to solve it:(

• 2.  RE: Roles by MAC?

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Sep 21, 2013 12:04 PM

Authentication via MAC address is not very secure, since MAC address can easily be spoofed. Add to that, MAC auth uses the MAC for both the username and password, so there's really no good way to secure it that way.

For employees (VIP and regular), you could leverage user based security and still leverage the internal auth server built into Instant if needed. Optionally, you can instead use Active Directory or some external RADIUS server to authenticate employees, if you already have a directory server somewhere.