Controllerless Networks

last person joined: 2 days ago 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Separate SSID only using 802.11g

This thread has been viewed 3 times
  • 1.  Separate SSID only using 802.11g

Posted Mar 06, 2013 05:02 PM

I am a rookie with wireless stuff.  We have some Instant 105's setup at a YMCA that we support.  The wireless is working fine for most things.  There are a couple of excercise bikes that connect to the wireless for internet access that allow users to login to a website and track their biking stats.  The company that makes the bikes says they need to connect using 802.11g only because using 802.11n causes intermittent disconnects.  I was wondering if it was possible to create a separate SSID that would only use 802.11g so that I connect the two bikes to that specific SSID in hopes of fixing the connection issues we are having.  Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

• 2.  RE: Separate SSID only using 802.11g

Posted Mar 06, 2013 05:18 PM

Hi,

In InstantAP the ARM profile/Radio Profile is assigen to all ssids.

3333.PNG

11111.PNG

22222.PNG

*IT will effect all your SSID'S.

Other method ( A bit freaky  :smileyindifferent: - but it's just might work for your bikes) I  tought about...why not build a spereate ssid with WEP key ? or TKIP ? it will limit the the connection speed to 54 Mbps (802.11g)

444.PNG

hope it gave u some answers and some ideas.

have a great night.

me

• 3.  RE: Separate SSID only using 802.11g

Posted Mar 06, 2013 05:32 PM

Unfortunately, there is no way to configure precisely what you are attempting.  As kdisc98 mentions, the changes he lists are AP wide changes -- all SSIDs. It sounds like you have more than one SSID so this would not be ideal.